We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi novice to sushi lover”
Review of Sushi Tomo

Sushi Tomo
Ranked #452 of 2,160 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sushi novice to sushi lover”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My sister was reluctant to try "raw fish" but everything we ordered was so fresh and delicious that she is now a fan. My only complaint was that the veggies were not as crisp as they should have been, didn't have that great snap.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good fresh sushi!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently got a lunch take-out. Food was ready, fresh and plentiful. I definitely recommend it for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in the Burgh!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Sushi Tomo has the best sushi in the Burgh. The Volcano Roll and the Geisha Roll are amazing. Always fresh and always good quality. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aj3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
193 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wow! What a disappointment”
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Sushi tomo was once the place to go for the best sushi in the north hills but they have fallen.

It's been a few years since I've been there so I decided it would be a nice place to take my wife for our anniversary.

We ordered traditional sushi and edamame. The same father and son still runs it but I did not recognize the sushi chef. The resturant was empty when we arrived Black Friday afternoon. The son waited on us. The sushi rice was a but wet, heavy and cold but over all not worth the $36. We substituted a rainbow roll for a California roll and were charged an additional $7. The son who waited on us forgot our edamame and after waiting a while, I left our table to find him sleeping at a table in another part of the resturant. For an anniversary dinner it was terrible and the service was ridiculous for roughly $50. I will never go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodcritic11_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

we eat here regularly. Always a good dinner. Decor is old but never had a problem with the food or service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mj2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Tomo also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Tomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing