We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cider and Wine Bar”

Arsenal Cider House & Wine Cellar
Ranked #3 of 114 Nightlife in Pittsburgh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Brookville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super Cider and Wine Bar”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This cider and wine tasting house is located in the architecturally picturesque Arsenal district of Pittsburgh. On street parking was not a problem. There was handicapped access by a side door.They are working toward permits for sidewalk tables but at this time the exterior is so nondescript that it almost like visiting a speakeasy in the days of prohibition. The proprietress and staff are cheerful and engaging and up on their history of the area. The cider I sampled was a novelty to me but a pleasant change . I bought a one liter growler which they filled with sparkling hard cider for about twenty dollars. I took it home for consumption but I could have had some at the tables of their indoor tasting room. I look forward to visiting again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Refreshing Cider”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The strong sweet smell of fermenting fruit meets you at the door along with friendly staff. All their ciders are crisp and refreshing. I highly recommend the strawberry mixed with the mead! Yum!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MollysPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
533 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Enjoyable trip with tasty cider and free samples!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Went to Arsenal with my wife and some of our friends. It is a very small place with about 3 tables, so not much room to sit. You pretty much walk in and start sampling ciders! They had 8 ciders when I was there, and from the last review of this place literally every cider has changed, with the exception of the Fighting Elleck which they still have. They let you try 4 out of the 8 if you're there by yourself, but if you have a friend/partner you can split them and therefore try all 8. My favorites were the Pear Son, one of the sweeter ones, but they were pretty much all good. Legally they can't sell by the glass, but if you buy a growler they can give you glasses to sit at one of the tables and have a drink or two. Definitely an interesting experience, and a must for hard cider lovers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Some fantastic cider”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Their cider is top notch. I had a very hard time deciding which ones to bring home. We ended up getting three growlers. They had Picket, ZuZu Oaked Blueberry ( last keg for a bit), fighting Elleck, Santas Cinnamon Apple, & Symingtons Sour Cherry Union on tap. Because of the laws they cannot serve by the glass, so it's somewhat limited in a visit. BUT I would go and fill up growlers at every chance. Cider's are all awesome.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Unique Cider Experience with Local Flavor!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Went here with my wife after going to a few wineries & breweries on a Sat in Nov. This place is literally in a house, with a cozy cabin-ish vibe. The woman pouring the samples & her husband own it, and followed their dream by replacing their living room & kitchen with this great little cider house. They’ve got a great variety of ciders like you’ve probably never had before, and even have some sorbet & other tasty treats with a little kick as well. Everything we tried was great, they were extremely hospitable, and we’ll go back for sure. Best of luck to these guys to keep their business growing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomStax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arsenal Cider House & Wine Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Arsenal Cider House & Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing