We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Friendship Suites”
Review of Friendship Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friendship Suites
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Great Stay at Friendship Suites”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My fourth stay at Friendship Suites - my home away from homein Pittsburgh. Mr Cox has always been extremely helpful and cooperative - check in , stay and check out were smooth as usual. Nice and quiet neighborhood , comfortable stay , easy access to supermarkets , public transport and CMU.
Will come back again and stay in Friendship Suites again soon. Thanks Mr Cox for the help and cooperation.

Room Tip: I have stayed in Suite 5 , Building No 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCox1, owner at Friendship Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We're thrilled to be your home-away-from-home here in Pittsburgh, Mohit. Thank you for taking the time to let us know you had a smooth stay. I can't wait to welcome you back for another great time.

All the best,
Robert C., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    56
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
48
43
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our stay at the Friendship Suites was the perfect accommodation and location for visiting CMU and Pittsburgh. We couldn't have enjoyed more our beautifully furnished and well equipped two bedroom suite. The kitchen had every convenience and we were able to prepare dinner and breakfast while enjoying the company of our family. Mr. Cox, the proprietor, was always available to assist with any special accommodation request. We are looking forward to a return visit next month!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCox1, owner at Friendship Suites, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I appreciate you letting me know we could give you the perfect accommodations when you were visiting, Donna. I'm glad you could enjoy cooking breakfast while in the company of your family in one of our suites. We're looking forward to your next visit as well.

Warm wishes,
Robert C., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for a two week visit to CMU. The suite I stayed in had a bedroom with en suite, and a kitchen/living room. There are shops very close by, so despite not having a car, I was able to get stuff to cook for myself, and both CMU shuttles go from stops about 5 minutes away on foot, so getting to campus was no problem. It was the perfect base for my visit - thanks to Mr Cox for making my stay a very easy one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sploo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I often visit Pittsburgh and always stay at the Friendship Suites, if my stay is longer. This is not a hotel but well equipped apartments are provided. Television, telephone, internet and a functioning kitchen are included. Shops, bus stops, and good restaurants are close. The area is safe. Everything functions in the house and the manger Mr. Cox is very helpful. The price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This place is located in the Shadyside area in PA. It is a corner building so there is some traffic noise in the evening and morning. We stayed in the first floor suite which had a front and back door entrance. We also had a free parking spot. The suite was very clean. There was a full kitchen, a living room, bedroom and full bathroom. Wifi was nice and fast. The décor was a bit dated but suited us fine. The price was more than reasonable for downtown PA. We booked this hotel all by phone and never saw a live person. Everything went smoothly and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting something a little different. We would stay here again no problem. Close to all the great stores and restaurants in the Shadyside area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I recently worked at one of the upmc hospitals! Location was close, and easy to get to! Restaurants and lg market place close buy. Suites were wonderful, very home like ! Mr. Cox very nice and easy to work with. Definitely will stay again for both work and pleasure. Great location!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bonita58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Friendship Suites for 3 1/2 weeks while our son went through a complicated surgery at UPMC-Shadyside. The location was very convienent, walking distance to the hospital. The suite was well appointed, furnished and squeaky clean. The TV service had a great array of choices with no extra charge. The owner, Robert Cox was very accomodating, friendly and was either on the scene or responded very quickly if you called him. Best close by dining, Cafe Sam.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Suites

Property: Friendship Suites
Address: 301 Stratford Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendship Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the excellent accommodations and sincere service at Friendship Suites, you'll check in as our guest and check out as our friend! We believe that traveling should be a truly great experience with affordable prices and quality service. Building a personal relationship with our guests is our priority. Should you have any concerns during your stay, we welcome you to contact the owner directly 24 hours a day! High prices can put a damper on anyone's plans so we keep our rates reasonable so you can focus on enjoying your stay. Friendship Suites offers the best value in Pittsburgh, up to 45% less than our competitors! Our apartments feature amenities like DIRECTV service and pay-per-view movies while our suites boast fully-equipped kitchens with cooking ranges, refrigerators, and deluxe towels. We also offer free local phone service, on-site laundry facilities, and easy access to public transportation to nearby universities, hospitals, and even the zoo. When you're looking for affordable accommodations and a personal touch, look no further than Pittsburgh's Friendship Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Friendship Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing