We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely Pittsburgh experience”

Primanti Bros. (Oakland)
Ranked #178 of 2,429 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Deli, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Central Oakland
Description: Home of the Almost Famous Sandwich! Half Priced Happy Hour Every Day!
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We were told to not miss this unique Pittsburgh attraction. Over a four-day visit, we ate lunch here twice. The sandwiches were large portions, since you get your cole slaw and your fries in your sandwich. We also got the fried pickles, which were the best I've ever had. My husband and I shared a sandwich and an appetizer, which was a good size for us (we are light eaters). The food was good, the atmosphere was good, the local beer was good. If we are in Pittsburgh again, I'd go back there again for lunch!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vidaamor2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2018

If you love potatoes, you found your restaurant.
Seriously, everything comes with potatoes on or in it .
Flavor, portion is great for students, bar hopping and checking out Pittsburgs city haunts.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

A visit to Pittsburgh isn't really complete without a visit to Primanti's and it is a city tradition. The Oakland location is on the small side but offers an upstairs seating area. The Pitts-Burger is a must - a hamburger patty topped with coleslaw. Watch out for the large cheese fries... they come on a 14 inch pizza tray which would make it a challenge for any group to finish.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whisox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Daughter going to Pitt .. “you have to eat at Primanti’s” they say. Okay ... we went. On a Saturday night. We were told to take a seat where we wanted ... so we sat upstairs ... and sat ... and sat. Then we went down to order food and drinks. Burger, Pastrami and Cheese sandwiches. “Burger” was okay .. burger + fries cannot really mess up. Pastrami ... okay .. we are from Chicago and have some of the best pastrami in the Midwest (Manny’s) ... I’m not sure what this pastrami was .. tasted weird/no real flavor. Bread is too huge and 80% of the sandwich was fries ... and bad coleslaw. We really wanted to like it ... but it’s on the “tried it and that’s it” list. Sorry

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank 3ofusMens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We LOVE the Primanti Bros. chain but this location has an extremely limited menu and is literally crammed into a whole in the wall. We walked in - sat ourselves - ordered drinks - got the menu - paid for our drinks and went to look for someone else to have dinner.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 473kristiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrimantiBros, Owner at Primanti Bros. (Oakland), responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi friend! Thank you for stopping by. Yes, our Oakland location is much like our original in The Strip! Sandwiches, a few apps, and a dive-bar atmosphere. Sorry this didn't live up to your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Primanti Bros. (Oakland) also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Primanti Bros. (Oakland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing