We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Piper's Pub

Piper's Pub
Ranked #97 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Southside Flats
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Very good food for a reasonable price. Most of what I've eaten here has been very good. Mac & Cheese with Chorizo, Stilton Cheeseburger, Pulled Pork Banh Mi,Sheerds Pie are all delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank papayasalad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    73
    24
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum! ”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This place is so good that if I could give it more than 5 stars I would. Our appetizer was amazing! The Glamorgan Croquettes are the things dreams are made of. I had a vegan burger that was amazingly yummy and hubby had the pub burger with chips. The fries were so good that he hated to leave them, but was so full he had no choice.
You will not regret a visit to Pipers Pub. And we will be back!

Helpful?
Thank MissJosieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointing 2nd visit”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Was really excited to come to Piper's pub after not visiting Pittsburgh for a few years. Server was somewhat rude. We ordered what we thought were chicken wings...found out after we tried and questioning the server that they were actually Vegan "Seitan" wings...ugh!. Could have been helpful had he clued us in as we did not know how to pronounce "Seitan" and ordered Fish/Meat at the table anyway. I was not impressed with their Fish and Chips either. Lose the attitude server!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurieoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

This was NOT your typical greasy pub food. The Reuben was open faced broiled, with the Russian dressing on the side and very good. The venison shepherd's pie was hearty and delicious. Even the chips (fries) seemed less greasy. And a great selection of drinks, from mead to Mad Elf to warm and cold beers on tap. Highly recommend for lunch or dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We were in South Side looking for something new. We love a few other places down the street from Pipers Pub but never tried them until tonight.
We had seen other positive reviews but were hesitant since we did not want a place with "bar food" but something else like our other favorite places so we stopped outside to look at the menu. A gentleman was going in to meet his family and recommended we try it. So glad we did.
Everything is made to order. Extensive menu with a British isle flare. Everything from Shepard's Pie to Bangers and Baps. For the less adventure filled there are hamburgers and grilled cheese but it is all made to order.
The servers are very pleasant. Don't let the piercings and tats scare you because they are all great people. Extensive beer list that changes with the seasons.
Early weekend breakfasts so you can catch the soccer games across the pond.

Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piper's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Piper's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing