We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Student view”

University of Pittsburgh
Ranked #31 of 176 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Student view”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What can I say, if you have to have an 8 am class, having it in a building with that magnificent architecture makes it just a little less annoying!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArgentiAertheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    55
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely University - definitely worth the visit.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The University was very well maintained. If was like going to Hogwarts at the Cathedral of Learning. Situated almost besides the Carnegie Museums, you can spend at least a day or more in the area. We were there on a Sunday so it was quiet but peaceful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adhp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Like being in mid-evil England”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

When I researched Pittsburgh on Tripadvisor I was surprised to see a university could be so highly recommended. Stopped at the university as part of a tour of Pittsburgh and was floored by the architecture. We had too little time as on a shuttle tour but when in Pitttsburgh again, we'll drive there and spend more time viewing the facilities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AandWWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Historic beautiful campus!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The entire campus of UPMC is gorgeous, with beautiful old architecture from the 1800's until present. The cathedral is its crown jewel. The architecture rivals a Gothic Cathedral in Europe, yet it is dedicated to learning. It stands as a beautiful landmark. The Soldiers & Sailors Monument Building was also amazing, as our keynote speaker spoke there. I sat in on a tour, to learn that this was built by Civil War soldiers after the war. The cannons out front point to the South, just in case and the Southern hall is just called the "front hall." (I am from the South, so I had to snicker at this one)

The weather was wonderful and the 500 or so of us at the International Health Conference were so pleased with UPMC and being able to walk safely on campus, with beauty all around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaBrandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“What an amazing campus!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I attended a conference on the campus of the University of Pittsburgh including: Soliders and Sailors; Alumni Hall; and the William Pitt Union. The buildings are historic and beautiful. Aside from the buildings, the staff and students involved with the conference were very hospitable!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Pittsburgh also viewed

 

Been to University of Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing