We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Springhill made long Hospital stay easier!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Springhill made long Hospital stay easier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

In February we booked a room at Springhill Suites( Federal Street, Pittsburgh) for 3 days while my husband had surgery at Allegheny Hospital. We booked at this location because they shuttle every 1/2 hour to area hospitals. We are so happy with our choice! My husband had life-threatening complications after surgery and my daughter, granddaughter and I stayed 14 days in this Springhill. The staff was a tremendous help with their service, but also with their compassion. On the most frightening day, when I needed to get to the hospital asap, Josh (manager) stood outside with me until the shuttle arrived. It became the staff's habit to ask about my husband and offer their support. Their caring attitudes helped make our ordeal bearable. BUT, that's not all...
The hotel is spotless and fresh. The shuttle runs nonstop from 6:00am and the drivers are so kind, taking us to a grocery, bank or hospital as needed. The breakfast buffet is great, and the on-site laundry kept us in clean clothes. The price was at the higher end of our budget; but everyone and everything, at the Springhill Federal Street, made our hospital ordeal easier. Trust them! Kathy & Jim Conley

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy4jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    214
    62
    9
    13
See reviews for
210
131
13
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed on our way through Pittsburgh and couldn't be happier with our choice. We weren't there for a Pirates game, but I can't imagine a better or closer hotel if you were going to a game. The staff at the front desk gave us recommendations on what to do and where to eat---very mindful of the fact that we were traveling with young children. Clean hotel, friendly staff, shuttle anywhere you need to go, comfortable beds....... couldn't ask for more.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lanielyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Visited Pittsburgh for a baseball game and to tour the University of Pittsburgh.

The hotel was right accross the street from PNC park--so convenient. Parking on-site for $18/day. Costly in my opinion, but parking in the city in general is at a premium.

Was able to check in early. Had a 2 double bed studio suite on the third floor. Very nice.

Breakfast was included--your standard. Eggs, oatmeal, cereal, waffles,etc. There was restaurant on site. Did not eat there. Also, a small market with overly-priced items.

The hotel itsellf is within walking distance of a lot of attractions. The Sixth St. bridge is closed down a couple of hours before game time as well as a half-block radius of the park. Be aware. We had a difficult time getting to the hotel. The street layout of Pittsburgh is very confusing and the traffic is unreal getting into and out of the city on 376. Plan accordingly.

Feel free to email with any questions!

Room Tip: Use your AAA membership to get the cheapest rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy5504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

From check-in with Josh and Melissa everything was great. The room was perfect for our trip, ( Cubs game) no noise, everything else done well. The free breakfast was very good with many choices. The free shuttle was fabulous, Mike and Byrd were great. Plus , 50 steps to PNC Park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cndyln58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our family stayed here for the July 4th Pirates game and it was a great location as it is right across the street from PNC park. The hotel was fine for the price we paid and the free breakfast was nice. Only complain is the $18 charge for parking. The pool was pretty small but our kids didn't mind. Overall, we will stay here again for the location to the ballpark.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillytravelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxonburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

This was probably our fourth time at this hotel. It's good when there's more than just the two of us, but I think in the future we will most likely stick to the Renaissance when we're without the kids. The location is great for going to PNC Park and other locations on the North Shore. We were a little surprised at how busy they seemed for a week night - but there were quite a few businessmen and families going to the game. We checked in as usual with no problems. In getting ready to go out with customers for dinner and the game, we found the sink didn't work properly. We were in a hurry and did not have time to notify maintenance. After the game, when I attempted to use the whirlpool (which increased the price of the room); after filling the tub with water and turning it on, the cover (which is quite large) of one of the jets kept falling off and blowing lint/dirt into the water. As it was 11:30 p.m. by then, we also did not notify maintenance. We checked out at 9 a.m. the next morning and notified the front desk upon checkout. Next time we stay on that side of the river we will most likely try the Residence Inn as it is slightly newer than the Spring Hill. We don't complain about the parking fee as it is still cheaper than paying for parking in the lot next door for just going to the game. The restaurant attached to the Spring Hill called SoHo (I don't know if it's owned by the hotel since this is the only Spring Hill Suites that we've been to that has had a restaurant) has given us good meals on two separate occasions. They do get extremely busy (and noisy) on game days. Our last visit we ordered dessert through room service. It was good but delivery times do take longer on game days due to the crowds in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We chose this hotel because we had my 93 yr. old father-in-law with us and we wanted easy access to Three Rivers Casino where we watched the amazing fireworks on the river. Although this hotel, as well as some of the surrounding hotels, say they are "walking" distance, it was still too far for him to walk. Would have been fine for us. But they had a great shuttle service that takes you anywhere and they drop everything to shuttle you anywhere, regardless of how many people need shuttling!

We reserved a King suite, hoping to have the pullout sofa bed in a separate area. When we got to our room, the sofa bed was placed right in front of the bed! But we later found out that was only because we had reserved a "handicap" accessible room. Not sure what that had to do with it, but I immediately went down and asked if they had anything with more privacy. They were very gracious and gave us another room which had a wall (no door) separating the sofa area from the bed. It was perfect. Bathroom was spacious with separate toilet area, and we had our own sink, microwave, and fridge in the sitting area. We gave my father-in-law the bed, and the pull out sofa wasn't too bad...for a sofa bed!
Television is situated between - and facing - the two rooms, so you could swivel it either way to watch.

The parking was $18/day, which I found a little steep, but it was worth it. We came and went as we pleased and used the shuttle if we didn't feel like driving.

Free breakfast was very substantial...eggs, waffles, muffins, meats, juices. It does get busy, but the people come and go and you can get a table after a very short wait...or take your food to your room. (Get the mini chocolate cheesecakes!) Baseball games were on the big screen t.v. all day in the very comfortable lounge.

We actually chose to stay for lunch one day, and the restaurant is nice with a huge bar. We just had hamburgers (prices a bit steep), but you definitely get what you pay for. Best hamburger I've ever had...and huge portions. Kudos for their onion rings also!

Front desk personnel were extremely helpful and courteous. Nice snack/miscellaneous store next to the front desk.

We will definitely stay here again, as it is so convenient to everything, especially if you're going to a Pirates game!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chattycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn  - Pittsburgh / Steubenville Pike
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 223 Federal St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pittsburgh, enjoy a refreshing hotel experience at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh - North Shore. Designed for the modern lifestyle, SpringHill Suites invites you to relax in studio suites 25% larger than typical hotel rooms with sleeping, dining and work areas. Join us daily for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and work out in our new fitness facility or unwind in our indoor pool. For the business traveler our hotel is located just minutes away from many of Pittsburgh's major corporations. For the sports fans we're perfectly situated across the street from PNC Park, within a half mile from Heinz Field, one mile from Consol Energy Center. Feeling lucky, try your luck at The Rivers Casino featuring slots and table games. Parking is an additional cost at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing