We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Pirates Game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The greatest attraction of this hotel is its proximity to PNC Park; even a minor leaguer could throw a ball from the hotel entrance to the stadium façade; literally right across the street. Stayed in a 2 queen studio and it was very spacious – plenty of room. Room was very clean even though the carpet had numerous coffee stains – not dirty, just unsightly. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom appeared to look older than the rest of the room – it may not have participated fully in the 2012 refurbishment – but it was clean nonetheless. Hotel is right up against an elevated highway so there is some road noise throughout the night – not a big issue but obvious. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Marriott rates this as Category 7 hotel – I don’t see that though. Felt and looked more like a 5, maybe a 6 on a good day.

The Residence Inn is at the opposite end of the parking lot and is equally close to the stadium. Spring Hill Suites are near the left field line, Residence Inn is behind home plate. But you cannot see the playing field from either property because the stadium structure blocks the view.

Had a very comfortable stay. Would return.

Room Tip: The closer you can get to PNC Park, the further you'll be from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank PhillyArtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here the night before we moved my daughter into Pitt. Without traffic, it's about 10 min drive, but with rush hour, could be 20-30 minjlgkjklkljf. Pros: very large rooms, nicely lit, very clean, hallways brightly lit, decent breakfast (nothing fancy though), very clean and roomy. Cons: $19 to park. :(( If you're going to a baseball game, you almost couldn't get any closer!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frankie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Clean - comfortable- quiet- close to river walk and restaurants ! Loved the shuttle and learned a lot from the locals! Highly recommend- had a great breakfast selection and a nice restaurant / bar off lobby!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I got a great deal thru Priceline! This hotel has spacious rooms. Very nice & clean. Fridge, microwave,& Kurieg in each room. Hotel is close to both stadiums, restaurants, bars, & Stage AE. Easy walking to many places. Only negative is the $19 a day parking!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly000123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed at the Springhill Suites North Shore for one night this week, and was happy with my choice of hotels. The hotel is a couple blocks down the road from Stage AE, where I went to see a concert. It took maybe 5 minutes to walk to, and there wasn't much traffic. The rooms were spacious, and very clean. Check in was quick, parking was a little pricey, but it is Pittsburgh! This hotel would also be perfect if you are going to any event at PNC Park, as it is right across the street. Overall, very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location of this hotel is great. It is right across the street from the baseball park and within easy walking of the Andy Warhol museum and a number of restaurants. The hotel also has a shuttle, and if you have to drive someplace, it is not that difficult. Because you have a suite, the rooms are large which is perfect if you are traveling with children. The breakfast is free and perfectly adequate--much more than you would probably have available at home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandmaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Amazing location if you're going to a baseball game or just visiting in general. Literally right across the street to the stadium. Several restaurants within one block as well. Straight shot walking across the bridge to downtown shopping and restaurants. Hotel was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. Seemed very new. Parking costs extra so be aware. Breakfast was very good. Best hotel coffee we have found.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ifishngolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 223 Federal St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £96 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pittsburgh, enjoy a refreshing hotel experience at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh - North Shore. Designed for the modern lifestyle, SpringHill Suites invites you to relax in studio suites 25% larger than typical hotel rooms with sleeping, dining and work areas. Join us daily for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and work out in our new fitness facility or unwind in our indoor pool. For the business traveler our hotel is located just minutes away from many of Pittsburgh's major corporations. For the sports fans we're perfectly situated across the street from PNC Park, within a half mile from Heinz Field, one mile from Consol Energy Center. Feeling lucky, try your luck at The Rivers Casino featuring slots and table games. Parking is an additional cost at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing