We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet stay, Great Food, Good People”
Review of The Inn on Negley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn on Negley
Ranked #1 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Erie PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great quiet stay, Great Food, Good People”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Had Stayed at another BnB close by.... Had high expectations coming into the Inn and these guys meant them all!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnNSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
112
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent a weekend at the lovely Inn on Negley, in the Granny Smith suite, and had a wonderful time. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious, with a fireplace, sitting room, large tv, and several big windows looking out to the street below. We enjoyed the L'Occitane toiletries and robes & slippers provided. There also is a turn-down service, homemade cookies & beverages served in the afternoon, and a cheese & wine hour from five to seven in the evenings.

The breakfast was wonderful, with offerings such as baked fruit, pumpkin pancakes, and goat cheese, rosemary & tomato scrambled eggs.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

If we ever make it back to Pittsburgh, we would love to stay at the Inn on Negley again!

Room Tip: We loved the Granny Smith room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovelettertypewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This B&B is exceptional. We were visiting family in Pittsburgh, and our stay in the Northern Spy was so pleasant. Comfortable, clean, gracious, thoughtful - extras (high tea, turn down service, complementary beverages), and breakfast was a treat!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

When a family obligation brought my sister and me back to Pittsburgh, we were lucky to find the Inn on Negley. We spent several days in the Granny Smith room, and we delighted with the accommodations, breakfast, location, staff, and amenities -- Everything! In fact, the Inn on Negley made the visit so pleasant that we modified the opinion that we’d probably never return to Pittsburgh, where we’d grown up, and agreed to consider regular reunions there, as long as we could stay at the Inn. I can’t think of a nicer place to stay when visiting the area.

Room Tip: The Granny Smith room was on the back was very quiet and comfortable with a generous sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aomori, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Wife and I stayed overnight at the Inns at Negley at the tail end of a drop-son-at-college mini-vacation in Sept 2011. Yes, I guess it's a B&B; but, really, it's a top-notch boutique hotel that happens to occupy a once-residential property in the friendly Pittsburgh neighborhood of Shadyside. The Inn dazzled me with its first-rate decor and furnishings throughout the common rooms (to include a very comfortable outdoor patio); ditto for the Granny Smith Room, our guest room for the night. Beyond the boffo digs, the Inn also offered us several attractive extras: decent-quality complimentary wine to start the evening, good coffee and homebaked cookies, chef-prepared cooked-to-order gourmet breakfasts, and free Internet and parking. At the risk of compromising my ability to snag a booking here in the future, I highly recommend the Inns at Negley to others looking for first-rate accommodations in an interesting part of Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Inn on Negley is among the most outstanding B & B's that I have had the pleasure of experiencing from many around the world. The accomodations and amenities are superior. The owner, chef, and staff are outstanding (professional, kind, and outstanding performance). Now that I have discovered the Inn, I will not stay anywhere but here in all my future travels to Pittsburgh. All of the other reviews are right on--this place consistently and reliably demonstrates superior qualities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie-Meredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our stay at the Inn was wonderful. The Inn was completely renovated, but the owners stayed true to the time period. We stayed in the Cortland suite. It was very luxurious with all the amenities a traveler would need. The breakfast was great as well. If we need to travel to Pittsburgh again, we would definately stay at this inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_lt_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,108 reviews
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 71 in Pittsburgh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Property: The Inn on Negley
Address: 703 S Negley Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Negley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on Negley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing