We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on Negley
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$253
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$120
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$102
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore(Pittsburgh)(Great Value!)
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
240
20
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
20
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teab bcortland suiteempire suitewalnut streetnorthern spybreakfast was deliciousselect registrygranny smith roomblack roomtea sandwichesoff street parkingjacuzzi tubwriting deskthird floorgas fireplacebed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This is our third time staying here. The staff is wonderful amd they make you feel very comfortable and welcome. The rooms are beautiful and immaculately clean. Our daughter goes to the University of Pittsburgh and the location is convenient to the school. There is no elevator and the inn has 3 levels, so if that is a problem try to request a room on the main level. Each room is decorated differently and has its own charm and personality. Breakfast is included and the chef is very accomodating. This is a place that is both elegant and comfortable, and has consistatnly lived up to our expectations. This is a place that is both elegant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

On a one-night business trip, I'm used to staying in chain hotels. Imagine my delight to be put-up in a charming old B&B in the heart of a residential neighborhood in Pittsburgh. Once you got inside, it could have been a Vermont country inn! A parlor filled with antiques with complimentary snacks and drinks. My room had a huge 4-poster bed and a comfy sitting area. The bathroom was large but updated. All amenities (like robes, high-end toiletries, and even a teddy bear). The breakfast was fabulous! Locals go there for their wonderful afternoon teas. Nice touches all over (like the teddy bears and cut-out silhouettes of frolicing mice along the very long staircase). This is not a place for those unable to do steps, by the way! Took photos of my wonderful room under the eaves with my cell phone -- sorry not to have any to post!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The outside is painted gray and it may not turn heads as you drive or walk down Shadyside's Negley Street. However, when you walk in and notice the beautiful antique desks, crystal chandeliers, and meticulous attention to detail, you realize that this is a great place to stay for a getaway. Liz, the innkeeper, was very kind and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the inn is a short stroll to restaurants and upscale shopping in Shadyside. I would recommend that if you don't like stairs that you pack light because it can be a climb to several of the rooms. Also, take earplugs because Negley St. is busy!
My wife and I felt like we could have been in Boston or San Francisco while at the Inn. The great thing about Pittsburgh, is it really is a nice city with friendly people and you can get real value for your money. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silver_Lake23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the inn for one night. The service was excellent, the entire inn is lovely, and the food delicious. Everything is clean and top notch. The area includes good shopping and restaurants in easy walking distance, as others have mentioned.

Potential visitors need to know that there are a lot of stairs. My husband has bad knees and it was a little difficult for him so if this is an issue for you don't book a room on the top floor. Also, our room was in the front of the inn and there was a lot of traffic noise. (This IS located in the city, after all). It didn't bother us that much but if it would bother you ask for a room more to the back. These 2 items are not the fault of the inn, just mentioned so you can make your visit as pleasant as possible.

The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is that there was a mix-up with the room I asked for, which was disappointing. These things happen, and the way it was resolved was handled courteously and correctly. I would still recomment staying there.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveler101247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stayed at the Inn on Negley for 4 nights and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Pittsburgh. The rooms are lovely, quiet and comfortable; the breakfasts are great; and the overall atmosphere is welcoming. The surrounding neighborhood is pleasant, and you're only a short walk from many restaurants. It's also very close to Carnegie Mellon and the University of Pittsburgh. We had never been to Pittsburgh before, but after staying at the Inn on Negley, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. One tip for visitors: Get good directions wherever you're going in Pittsburgh because it's a tough city for newbies to navigate!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews