We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai - Awesome”
Review of Silk Elephant

Silk Elephant
Ranked #373 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Squirrel Hill South
Capua, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai - Awesome”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had soft-shell crab with herbs, Kuay Tiew, and Tom Yum - YUM! Chef especially made Khao phat kaphrao mu. Service=perfect, lovely, fast. Check out the specials board and just pick anything. This is authentic Thai quisine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FixeRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite meals, ever.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you like Thai food, you will not be disappointed. It is the best! It is all delicious. Public parking nearby if you do not like to parallel park. The lighting is low and the tables are close together in some areas of the restaurant, but once your food arrives, that is forgotten. The best spring rolls and Pad Thai that I have ever eaten.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bassethoundmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It is by far the best Thai Restaurant in Pittsburgh. Perfect for a family meal or a romantic date. "DO TRY THE RED CURRY."
The wine list is also good. Mid priced during dinner time, however low on cash students should prefer lunch as they have a special menu.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MayankJ_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stumbled into the Silk Elephant sort of accidentally, but it worked out because this is a great restaurant indeed. The thai iced tea was well done (and served in a very tall glass), as were the soups. My boyfriend and I ordered three different tapas, all of which were reasonably priced and as friendly on the eyes as they were on our tastebuds. Our server was polite and courteous, and the atmosphere was welcoming and warm. Next time we're in Squirrel Hill, we'll visit this place again to try some of the main dishes!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPsRECs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Very good food, really nice attentive service, pleasant atmosphere. Liked the pumpkin soup and the desserts - coconut ice cream and taro cake. Prices were fair.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank clabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silk Elephant also viewed

 

Been to Silk Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing