We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest stop on walking tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Redbeard's

Redbeard's
Ranked #156 of 2,155 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
London, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rest stop on walking tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

A great stop for a drink and something to eat when you're exploring Pittsburgh after visiting Mount Washington and going up and down the inclines. Great service and good food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
332 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Basic sports bar food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Redbeard's isn't great, it's just, well average. The menu has the usual array of sports bar food. It has a limited array of mostly mega-brewery beers on tap, and, when we were there, a small, harried wait staff that tried their best to keep up with the number of diners.

The key benefit of Redbeard's is that it's convenient to the incline. So, you can stroll a few yards after exiting, snap a few pics, grab a lunch, and head back down. Simple, easy, basic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ride up the incline and eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

small place just a block from the top of the incline. perogies, wings and stuffed bell peppers. Food wasn't bad but I probably wouldn't make a trip up just for it again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank crow3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The resteraunt was a nice place to eat on Mount Washington. We loved the fried mushrooms and the rest of the food was great too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank relaxedlady16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
532 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Gem in Mount Washington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Hadn't been to Redbeards in years since I rarely frequent Mount Washington, but went there with a friend and I will definitely be returning soon. Got seated right away on a Friday night, waitress was very nice, friendly and efficient. Had a Sam Adams seasonal special for $3.50, and we got wings for an appetizer which were very tasty and meaty. For my entree I tried the Rachel sandwich, basically a Reuben but with coleslaw instead of sauerkraut. It was absolutely one of the best sandwiches i've ever had. I highly recommended it to my friend who likes those kind of sandwiches, and we swore to return sooner rather than later. The restaurant is located on Shiloh Street, which can be a bit of a pain to navigate if you haven't been there before. Other than that minor issue, Redbeards is a great spot for a quality meal, also for watching a game if that's your goal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redbeard's also viewed

 

Been to Redbeard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing