We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please read this review .”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Map Room Grill & Bar
Ranked #1,218 of 2,172 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American
Good for: Bar Scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Please read this review .”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I feel that this place is a diamond in the rough . First of all I have the corn chowder is an appetizer that was unbelievably good. this is not a very big place, well decorated very comfortable. the owner is one of the main bartenders and she does her best to make sure is happy. If I lived here I'd be regular for sure very happy with my visit. Very unique menu fun choices .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great little place in Regent Square”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stumbled into The Map Room at the end of a recent Saturday night. Didn't try the food, but the beer selection was good and the service was very friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was very relaxed, my 2 friends and I found a quiet booth to just hang out and talk. If you're looking for a "happening" bar this probably isn't it, but it seems like a great place to come in for a few pints, in a really nice part of the city.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fine little neighborhood establishment.”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Consistently delicious fare at reasonable prices. The salads are ample, and appetizers like their tasty zucchini planks with a mild horseradish dipping sauce are an old favorite of ours. They offer a nice selection of sandwiches and more than a few entrees if you're looking for a heartier experience. Nice atmosphere, and a wonderful owner/proprietor. Local Irish music on Sunday evenings, and the occasional national and international acts make this a cozy option in the East End of Pittsburgh.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuala75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh pa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unbeatable. A rare find in steel town.”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Wandered in here on a late Sunday afternoon after cycling through Frick park. What a find. A best kept secret. Superb service from my waitress, Stephanie, who also found time to tend bar. I ordered a polenta cake, which I'd never heard of before, and it was one of the best meals I've ever had, and I'm one of the few Pittsburgers who has eaten at "The Fat Duck" and Mr Blumenthal would have to agree with me. Compliments to the chef, Ebony. Inexpensive. Superb value. The frosting on the cake was a group of musicians at a nearby table who played soft authentic Irish traditional music: I thought I'd died and gone to heaven.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelPittsburghPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
“More like crap room”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

really bad food, decent beer, high prices. poor service, frequented by awful people.0.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinSeconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Map Room Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to The Map Room Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing