We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe du Jour

Cafe du Jour
Ranked #209 of 2,121 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Southside Flats
PA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wife and I ate here for the first time, having heard via word of mouth, plus trip reviews. Much better than expected. L said one of the best meals she had in a long time.

Small inside, but great garden.

BYOB with tiny stem charge. But be aware cash only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food with a nice garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I read about this place in the PG and followed up with trip advisor reviews. The restaurant is exactly as described. We requested a table in the garden and it IS the place to sit. Do not go here if you are just stopping for a quick meal as the total meal for the 4 of us took almost 3 hrs. The time was not an issue as we had soup/salad, appetizers, entrees and dessert and everything is made to order and just wonderful!! As stated in previous reviews it is cash only and BYOB. The indoor portion of the restaurant is very small with maybe 6 tables which is a shame because it severely limits the ability to enjoy this place once the weather turns cold. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Memis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, IL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small & Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable dinner here on a recent trip to Pittsburgh. We dined in the small garden out back. The menu is limited, but we had no problem finding entrees to our liking. Kitchen is very visible and the chef even took a minute to talk with us as my wife really enjoyed his eggplant offering. Service was outstanding and while it appeared that parking might be a problem, we were able to find a convenient spot on a near-by side street. Only wish they took credit cards as it would make it a lot easier for travelers, like us. From reading other reviews we knew to bring cash, but a cash only policy doesn't seem appropriate for a restaurant of this type and reputation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaTuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint with good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Loved the limited menu! The service was great, attentive but not intrusive. Everything was fresh and menu items have a different twist. Our salmon entrees were excellent as was the soup and appetizer we shared. We also shared dessert (flourless chocolate cake). Portions are more than adequate. remember: CASH ONLY. We enjoyed a leisure meal in this quaint little cafe. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ellentd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh Pa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

this place is tiny, right on Carson between 11th and 12th... I'm amazed how many of my foodie friends had never heard of it. It is my absolutely favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. The food is amazing. very small menu but the mixture of subtle flavors is as good as anything I've ever eaten. when the patio is open, if the weather is good, enjoy it. It's cozy but sweet.
The roasted eggplant is my favorite and I almost never get a veggie dish anywhere else but it is rolled with mozzarella cheese and a pesto sauce. out of this world. The steak is good too as are the scallops, very artfully served. It's fun to watch the chefs in action too.
you need reservations unless you eat at 4pm, then may not.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bevbemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe du Jour also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Cafe du Jour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing