We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Priory Hotel(Pittsburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni William Penn Hotel(Pittsburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,764)
Filter reviews
1,764 results
Traveller rating
1,197
463
84
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
463
84
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingconvention centergreat locationheinz history museumfront deskacross the streetpnc parkwithin walking distancefree breakfastpool and hot tuballegheny rivergreat place to staythe breakfast areaking suitewould stay here againcultural districtheinz field
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,297 - 1,302 of 1,764 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great location. Nice amenities, including complimentary breakfast. The entire hotel is spotless. We stayed in a standard king room. It was very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance to Consol Energy Center, Heinz Field, Pnc Park and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a King room which was quite large but rather sparsely decorated. TV was small for the room size but was acceptable. The room was very quiet but the heating/air conditioning unit woke us every time it started up. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was okay. This is in a great location to walk to the Strip or Cultural District, convention center, museums, etc.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank impkokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I were visiting family for a weekend and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The hotel was outstanding. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. It was centrally located and made getting around the city easy! Definitely would recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Bruce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Hampton Inn & Suites has a lovely location in downtown Pittsburgh which allows you, for the most part, to park your car and walk anywhere. This is a major plus since parking is free. This is one of the few hotels which has this amenity. They also serve a free warm breakfast which is another rarity. The breakfast was a large spread. Everything was warm and they did have healthy food options. If you find yourself having to carry too much food back there are trays for you located above the juice dispenser.

The staff here is great. We got to town way before we could check in and I checked to see if we could at least park our car in their lot. Turns out they had an open room and gave it to us. When looking for dinner suggestions the front desk employees were extremely helpful.

As for the room, it is set up in a strange layout. While it does provide you with lots of room to move around the TV is pretty far away from the bed and therefore slightly hard to see. Upon entering the room the heat was up nice and high. It was very inviting. I have a feeling we were given a handicap room as the shower had glass doors and no ledge to put toiletries or to shave your legs. The glass door didn't work very well but I notified the staff so hopefully no one else has this problem. The toiletries in the bathroom were also outstanding - makeup remover wipe and a kit with cotton balls and q-tips - very well done.

The fitness center is really small. Only two treadmills, an elliptical, free weights, and a balance ball. I really enjoy a stationary bike and was disappointed not to have one here. The room is kept at extremely hot temperatures which make exercising unpleasant. Also the TV is at a really odd angle in relationship to the cardio machines. You have to crane your neck at an odd angle to view it. The door to get into the room is extremely difficult to use. I though it was broken but and employee showed me that you really have to push hard to get the handle to go twice. The pool is quite shallow and warm and the hot tub was normal. Both of these features had handicap equipment, seats to lower into the water.

The only other important feature to note is that it is really hard to get take out. A lot of places say they deliver but they don't. There is a third party deliver driver who does this service but beware they charge as well as close at 9:30pm (on a Saturday!). They also have a different set of menus to use then those of the restaurants they deliver.

Overall, I had a great stay and would come back but it is really pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreamergirl4686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

From arrival to departure, the staff of this clean, convenient and affordable hotel, made me feel at home. Located right by Pittsburgh's Strip district, I easily enjoyed many activities. Elevators were quick, ice machines worked as the should, and bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank UNCLEBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews