We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but VERY GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Central Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pricey but VERY GOOD”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A little pricey, did tons and tons of searching for where to stay in Pittsburgh for a sports competition weekend. Everything was priced very similar. I like the Hampton brand so decided to try it for first trip to Pittsburgh. Had no idea how great a choice we made. First off is the great stuff like parking, sounds silly but yes around the parking starved area of downtown Pittsburgh, having a place with parking included and secure is a HUGE bonus. Two full sized parking lots makes sure you'll have a place to park.
Location, PERFECT walking distance to so many great restaurants, night life, the open air market, museums, you name it you can walk there. If you're coming for a Pirates, Steelers or Pens game, it is less than 5 minutes drive to all of those places!
Breakfast was average, nothing spectacular but we stayed two days and it was different both days with plenty of hot food, waffle maker and fresh fruit/cereal.
Front desk staff were very friendly, Andrea I believe checked us in and she was great! Ran into several cleaning staff over two days and they were all very personable!
Attitude goes a long way when traveling and they all did a great job!
Pool/ hot tub area is a little small but clean and decent. Gym area is nice with free weights and treadmill/elliptical.
Room was very clean, bed very comfy. Fridge, microwave, coffee pot, kitchen sink, whirlpool tub/shower.
Will stay here again when we return to Pitt next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ4traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    438
    72
    14
    4
See reviews for
525
459
75
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bethlehem, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place is awesome. The staff here are really nice and helpful. The rooms were clean, and the beds were super comfy. The only problem I had with it is that the hot tube had too many chemicals or something. It ruined my ring and really stung my eyes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The main purpose of our trip was to see a game at PNC Park. We considered staying much closer to the ballpark, but chose this hotel primarily due to the free parking. We made the right decision! We loved the location and the short 15 minute walk gave us the opportunity to walk over the bridge before the game like the locals do! We were worried about the walk back at night, but felt very safe (despite being told by someone at the game that sometimes the homeless can be bothersome...we did not see one homeless person either way). The room was spacious and clean. Other reviews mentioned construction, but that must now be complete as we heard nor saw any sign of it. Between the free parking, breakfast and wifi, the rate was reasonable and I would definitely recommend this hotel for a visit to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

downtown accommodations with free parking (though the set up is weird with gates and such). The property was undergoing a significant renovation of lobby areas but in spite of that it was comfortable and we felt welcome and safe. The check in was prompt and very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixonconsultinginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent location to stay for convenient travel to all Pittsburgh highlights. Satisfying breakfasts, congenial and unfailingly helpful staff. Prompt check in and departure, free self park, comfortable room. Would recommend. Felt price was ok considering all the advantages. Plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was a great idea to stay, we had cheerleading at the convention center and needed something that would be able to accommodate a bunch of girls and be able to feed them at the same time. The location was the best I found and the view from our room is "priceless". Of course the higher the floor the better the view. We stayed in a corner suite and had a good view of the museum and 'partial' river. Overall satisfaction comes from the 'girls' (children and wife). If they're happy I am, and I can say we had a great trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Loved this Hampton stay! The staff went over and above to welcome us and make our stay great After a slight hiccup at check-in, we were treated very well. Lovely hotel in a great location. Will stay again and recommend heartily. Typically good Hampton breakfast and beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngsueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,102 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing