We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've stayed at dozens of Hampton Inns and this is one of our favorites. It's a new, 14 story brown brick building located right across the street from the Heinz History Center. It also is just a five-minute walk from the Strip, an area consisting of one-of-a-kind shops and restaurants, some of which look like they remain unchanged from the 1950s. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and upgraded us from a room to a suite, which was large, sunny, and almost luxurious. Because of its location, this hotel is a little more expensive than most Hampton Inns, but is definitely worth the price. The free parking in the hotel lot was another plus. The only drawback: lots of noisy trains and trucks nearby. One tip for shopping along the Strip: some stores close at 3 or 4 pm, so come early.

Room Tip: Higher floors still pick up street noise but are probably quieter than the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmoose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
ncmoose99, it sounds like you know your Hampton's and we're thrilled you rated us among one of the best! We're glad you were able to benefit from a suite upgrade, and that you had the time to enjoy the location and offerings around the hotel. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand, and the kind words you wrote about our specific hotel, we love having you here!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    410
    66
    14
    4
See reviews for
464
412
70
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a nice hotel with ample free parking and a free included breakfast. It is located at the edge of the Strip District -- which is the old meat-packing part of town that is now turned into a fun place for walking with clubs, restaurants, interesting shops, etc. You can walk into downtown as well if you are used to city walking; it would be a bit of a hike for small children or others who aren't used to walking longer distances. The Heinz Museum is right across the street. The rooms are typical; some are quite large and others are quite small. I have stayed here several times. There is no restaurant but there is a vending machine area. There is a small work-out room and a small lobby. The price at this hotel fluctuates wildly based on what is happening in town. For example, when the nearby universities and colleges (and there are a lot) have events or move-in or move-out or parent weekends, etc., the price goes through the roof. Otherwise, it's pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: It doesn't hurt to ask for a "larger" room at check-in as some of the basic double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AttorneyMom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Property is immaculate. Rooms are big (ours was huge, maybe even some wasted space). The staff was friendly and courteous. The parking was totally convenient and effortless. Good area, plenty to see and do within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c7alt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
c7alt, thank you for your review of our property! We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed all of our amenities, and the staff and cleanliness of the hotel met your expectations as well. We look forward to your next stay with us when you return to Pittsburgh!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cattaraugus, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed two nights and was a wonderful experience all around. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly, breakfast was very good and location was excellent. Would return for another stay without hesitation. Only thing that disappointed me was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. When I made the reservation I was told I was eligible for an upgrade upon check in but when I arrived they told me I was eligible. Not sure what that was all about. Pool and hot tub were very nice for their size.

Room Tip: If you want a microwave or fridge you have to book a suite at a huge upgrade price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Attractive hotel with comfortable beds. Pillows were too squishy, but otherwise the room was fine. Large rooms with standard amenities (no fridge, microwave, etc.). The location is very good. Complimentary breakfast is the standard type for these hotels -- waffle maker, oatmeal, and a couple of hot items. The coffee was surprisingly good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was spacious, clean. Location is very quiet and very conveniently located:one side is 10 min walk to downtown, other side is along the river - easy 15 min walk to the fountain in a Point Park. The staff is so well trained and friendly. The breakfast is the best ever and free. The dining area is in the specious lobby with a restaurant type furniture, very clean and there was a woman who clean and take dirty dishes. Very clean with a big TB on the wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
k0za, thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We're so glad you had a pleasant experience, and that you really enjoyed our breakfast! Cleanliness is also very important to us, so thank you for pointing that out in your comments. We hope that you do return, and we look forward to you next stay with us!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotal near all convention venues and downtown. Rooms clean and decor recent and up to date nice view. Adequate parking. Nice staff. Good breakfast compared to other Hampton Inns and comparable chains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Eric L., thank you so much for all of your positive feedback from your recent trip to our property. We are very happy to know that our staff is consistently delivering top-notch service, and that our customers are leaving feeling satisfied. We've also recently renovated, and we are thrilled you like our newest additions. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing