We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ravenna, United States
2 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very friendly staff. Free parking. Close to all the great place to go. The breakfast is so nice to have for getting out in the morning. Lots of choices and clean. I've stayed here a few time and it's one of the best choices for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Janie H, thank you for your review! Thank you for your accolades of our staff, breakfast and our great location. We are thrilled that you've found us to be one of the best hotels in Pittsburgh, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you are in the area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    423
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
492
429
71
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent service from all staff extremely clean room Good internet service reasonable price best on comparison of other downtown hotels clean gym and pool Hotel even loaned me Umbrella and rain pancho during a rain storm

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Wow! Thank you, Ronald L! We are thrilled that you've named us the best hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh! We pride ourselves on superior service and we are very pleased that our staff was able to go above and beyond for you. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
590 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Love the Hampton Inn experience. Can't beat the complimentary breakfast, but the location was great as well. Lots within walking distance, but not a difficult drive to many other spots in the area.

Special thanks to Joe at the front desk for helping us book a great room over the phone while we were driving to Pittsburgh. Very, very considerate and extremely helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BadLlama17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
clcl11 - Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are thrilled to hear that Joe was both friendly and helpful, as we pride ourselves on our superior service. He is an asset to our team and we will be sure to recognize him for his efforts! Thank you for your kind words of hotel, location and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great stay! Visiting Pittsburgh with three generations. Clean and well maintained. Good location for seeing the city. Nice indoor pool. Took advantage of the satisfying complimentary breakfast. Definitely would recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Lisa M, thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you found our hotel - especially our pool and hot Hampton breakfast - more than satisfying! Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to us the next time that you are in Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Nice, Clean, Good location.
Staff was friendly and helpful, pretty large room, its located in a more low key part of town.
The Heinz museum is located directly across the street.
We weren't in the room much, but when we were, it was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Christy S, thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your kind words of our staff and location, as well as our clean and spacious rooms! We look forward to welcoming you back to Pittsburgh on your next trip!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

New. Everything works (fast elevators, quiet air conditioning, comfortable beds, etc.) Staff is young, but well trained. Good touring and dining tips. And after the first encounter, they remember you! As other reviews have said, lobby a few steps from parking lot where your car is immediately available. No charge. No valet. No waiting. Heinz Museum across the street. Downtown , an easy walk. The not-to-be missed "Strip" (imported foods, fish, baked goods, fruits, vegetables) a little more of a walk or a 2 minute drive.

Room Tip: We were on the River side, 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghoff777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Ghoff777, thank you for your amazing review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your recognizing our staff and their superior service - we feel that it certainly sets us apart from the rest, as well as being the only hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh with free parking! Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

You are just a quick walk from "the point" in the heart of the city. I can't believe they have free parking! Such a relief and the comfort you'd expect from an updated Hampton. Friendly staff, clean rooms, all around a great place to stay on business/pleasure. I will return here on my next trip to Pittsburgh. They even let me check-in early since my room was available!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
David J - Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are elated to hear that we surprised you with our free parking, as we are the only hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh with the convienence of free parking! Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff and our clean, comfortable rooms. We look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing