We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3-Day Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Grampain, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3-Day Trip”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Spent 3 days in Pittsburgh. Staff was great! They were very helpful with traveling around the city and restaurants. Free, secure parking at the site. We were close to everything. The complimentary breakfast had both hot and cold items and was changed daily.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Shelli B, thank you for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and hotel, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    423
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
494
429
71
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel quality is pretty much what you would expect... clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and generally helpful.

The hotel, while close, is a little bit detached from the city center. To get to the convention center we had to walk through a sketchy looking overpass, though I don't know if it's actually supposed to be sketchy. Some crazy dude shouted at us as he drove by us, so my impression may have been tainted by that experience. I guess none of this matters if you are driving around the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Bo G, thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and our staff. I do apologize that the walk to the convention center was less than desirable, however I hope this does not discourage you from staying at our property in the future. Thanks again for your review!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from a visit to Pittsburgh. I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites (Downtown) and loved it. The free parking, free WiFi and convenient location were phenomenal along with the free breakfast every morning, which also varied each morning. The service was excellent as was the rooms, spacious and comfortable. The entire staff was professional and friendly. A special thanks to Andrea (Reception Desk) and Will (Housekeeping) for going above and beyond in their service, which made our visit all the more enjoyable. When I return to this city, I'll be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEF201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
KEF201, thank you for your review of our property on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our complimentary parking, WiFi and breakfast, as well as our clean and comfortable rooms! Thank you for your kind words of Andrea and Will - I will be sure to pass your accolades on to them! Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pittsburgh.

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have always liked Hampton Inns and find the rooms comfortable and welcoming. Recently, I attended a bi-yearly conference and had set up a special time for some of the attendees to meet before the conference for breakfast. Breakfast had ended so the manager, Mr. Paul Metzler, found a conference room for us and moved the food into the room. He was gracious, helpful and went out of his way to accommodate our group, which was celebrating a great occasion. This may sound like a small thing, but it was such a wonderful gesture and shows the hotel's dedication to serving its guests and making us feel valued. Everything else about this hotel was great -- very comfortable beds, lovely free breakfast, coffee in the lobby and helpfulness in finding restaurants and cabs to the airport. What a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAS119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
NAS119, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! Superior service is what we strive for with every single guest and we are very pleased that we were able to deliver for you! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

..... in downtown Pittsburgh, PA.

The location is superb - walking distance to downtown and right opposite the Convention Centre. The river runs alongside the hotel and there is a well maintained riverwalk path.
Free parking for hotel guests.
Room exceptionally clean and very spacious. I asked for a room with a view of the city and was given just that.
Staff friendly and helpful but also professional. Breakfast good - while renovations going on this was in one of the conference rooms but they had made the best of the situation.
There were also major renovations going on in the lobby and the front entrance was closed - rather awkward but plenty of signage and the disruption minimal - one workman even pressed the lift button for me as he was working on the floor!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BikerBear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
BikerBear143, thank you for your review of our property! We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with our location, rooms and our delicious on the house breakfast! Our renovations have since been completed and we would look forward to welcoming you back to see our improvements. Thanks again!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Reservation booked online via HiltonHhonors for a Friday-Sunday stay in July. Check-in was a breeze, the gentleman at the desk helped us with a map & directions around town, we got a room on the 5th floor which appeared clean, adequate & well-maintained. It contained two queen beds, desk, chest of drawers, TV. No mini-fridge or microwave, but there was an ice dispensing machine on our floor. Beds were made, sink was wiped down, but towels were not replenished after the 1st night, but we had enough from check-in to last our stay. 2nd day we discovered the outlet above the sink was not working & reported it at checkout. The hotel was easy to access, has free self-park that requires a room card to access the lot. At the time we arrived & departed, the main lot was full and we parked in overflow; it was not far to walk but the con is that you have to step a curb and scattered pavers to access the overflow parking, which isn't easy for people with minor disability and/or who can't lift & have rolling luggage and the mulch left us with soggy shoes. This hotel is a street over from the waterfront (but a large building is immediately blocking view in front of it), across the street from Heinz museum, about 3 blocks from convention center and 15 minutes walk to "the strip". From this area, we walked to "the strip"(to discover it is only open til 5ish most days) drove to Pitt (20 min.), Kennywood(1/2 hour), Duquesne incline (10 min.) and a restaurant in Station Square(15 min.). This Hampton had free hot breakfast served 6-10am, which seemed plentiful with a good variety--there were hot & cold selections of both sweet & savory variety and everything was well-stocked both mornings we visited. There were plenty of seats to relax in that area. There were free cookies in the lobby the first evening, and the 2nd, individual serving bags of snacks/chips. Coffee, tea, hot cocoa are always available & the lobby restrooms were consistently tidy. The pool hours were 6am-midnight, but we didn't have a chance to use the pool during our stay. It was a very good visit overall & I would stay at this location when visiting Pittsburgh in the future. 4 stars instead of 5 for minor parking lot concerns & no towel refills.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b4bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
b4bunch, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your kind words about our property, and for letting us know about the towel situation with your room. We will certainly remedy that situation ASAP! Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel was very, very nice. It was also a great value and it's location was perfect. The breakfast was delicious and everything was spotless. The employees were helpful and friendly. The parking was free which is very unusual. Restaurants were close and other activities were also nearby. The hotel was newer or at least seemed new. I also liked the size of the room. There seemed to be extra room where there didn't need to be but it was so nice. The temperature was great. The room was quiet and I didn't hear any noise in the hall or in nearby rooms. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Karen P, thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor! We certainly appreciate the kind words about our property and location. We look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing