We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location /nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location /nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is really well located - we went to a concert at the AE Stage and it was very convenient. The staff were really nice, but could have been a tad more helpful about taxi cab service. Parking is right there and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrietlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Harrietlou,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our location as well as the parking and clean, comfortable rooms. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on future trips to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    417
    66
    14
    4
See reviews for
476
418
70
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is perched at the edge of the strip district and is about a 20 minute walk to PNC park. The room was spacious and immaculate, and the breakfast was awesome (not many hotels in the city offer complimentary hot breakfast). Parking was simple and adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful, a gorgeous hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Alene H,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We certainly appreciate the kind words of our complimentary breakfast, location, and our friendly staff. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on future trips to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was clean, lobby was attractive. The staff were courteous and professional. I would stay again but it was expensive. The location was perfect to attend my daughters Nursing school graduation from PITT.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sofia D,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your kind words of our location and our property. We look forward to seeing you on future trips to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Common method of operation is to put a hold on your credit card for a specific amount in case you purchase incidentals. No problem except after leaving the hold will remain on your card for an unacceptable period of time. I am now 5 days since I departed and I still have the hold. The Hotel wants to blame my bank. I blame their procedure. Charge my card when I spend the money not in anticipation that I may spend money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Robert L,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I do apologize about the length of time that the hold for incidentals was placed on your card, however this is common procedure at the majority of hotels. The hold for incidentals typically comes off of your card within 3-5 business days. We have advised guests in the past to avoid this hold by using a credit card instead of a debit card. Again, thank you for your review, and I hope this experience does not deter you from choosing our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This Hampton felt more like a sophisticated city hotel, rather than the usual Hampton Inn one finds en route on the road. A very nice lobby, great pool and hot tub, spacious rooms, super clean everywhere, and great breakfast. So nice to have free breakfast, and free parking. We walked to the Pirates game--which was a nice adventure, over the river on a bridge directly to the stadium, --I was so impressed. I wish we had had time to see the History museum across the street. Just simply a lovely Hampton with a great location, in surprisingly lovely Pittsburgh! And oh so comfy beds!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Georgiapeach,

Thank you for your review of our property on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and our many complimentary amenities. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, spacious room with very friendly staff! Location was good, not great. We walked to PNC Park- but it was a little long for the kids. Was about 6 blocks from the locations we wanted to check out in the Strip District, and the same from the Cultural District.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trvlngwthefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Trvlngwthefam,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms and our friendly staff members. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

we loved our stay at this hotel. One thing I wished I had known: if you drive and park, you should go to the left of the front of the hotel and there is a gate; after you activate the speaker button the front desk will open it automatically--they responded immediately. The front desk also provided a useful local map and were very helpful with directions. We did tours of both PNC Park and Heinz stadium--both well worth the $8. For us, coming from NYC, this was a great driving city: you see wonderful bridges and only have occasional traffic. Parking is not easily available but the lots charge a reasonable amount--about 1/3 of what you would pay in NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and avoided the trash pick-up noise and we were able to get a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gil014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear gil014,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that front desk was helpful in assisting you with maps and directions around the Pittsburgh area. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on future trips to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,775 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing