We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to visit Pittsburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Just Ducky Tours, Inc.

Just Ducky Tours, Inc.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pittsburgh's ONLY Land and Water Tour!
Salem, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great way to visit Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loved the tour. I am a native of Pittsburgh but never saw the city like I did from the amphibious truck! We drove through the city, quacking as we passed pedestrians, over to the North Shore where we drove into the Ohio River. The grandchildren both had a chance to drive the vehicle in the river, the oldest was the pilot to turn around the boat. Beautiful way to spend an afternoon AND to learn a little of the history of Pittsburgh at the same time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    127
    28
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“9 yr old captain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

When is the last time your child drove an amphibious truck? My nine year old did donuts in the Ohio river steering the truck, or boat, or whatever it is. Living right outside pittsburgh you think you know everything but you don't. Kids had smiles on there faces and I did too. Ok so it cost us 52 dollars for three people...it's not a ride in a jitney (unlicensed cab in pittsburgh), but it's a "hey I've done that before thing". Learned a lot as well. Funny tour, had us laughing. Who knew they would let the kids drive. Great time. Seating is first come and it is accessible for those that need assistance. It's a hand crank lift.

Helpful?
3 Thank dare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff not all on same page - don't bother calling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We made reservations for a boat trip. We were unable to get to the boat in time. We were told that our tour time was sold out but they still charged us and would NOT let us transfer our tickets to another (confirmed) open tour time. We called, left a message as directed when we knew we wouldn't make it in time. When I did get a hold of someone they told me they "don't check messages". Just for my own information, I did call back later and ask about any open tickets for our time slot - they said they were completely sold out and were turning people away. Nice pocketing of money Mr. Ducky, nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank loristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeDuck, General Manager at Just Ducky Tours, Inc., responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are sorry that you were not able to make the tour with us. Your situation falls under our cancelation policy as stated below and found on our website.
Reservations that are made for Just Ducky Tours are for a specific time and date only. At the time of booking our policies are gone over during the phone conversation. Same day reservations are informed that they are passed our 48 hour cancellation policy at time of booking.

Cancelation Policy:
Reservations may be canceled or changed, with no penalty, up to 48 hours in advance of the tour. After this time, reservations are not guaranteed refundable. We make every effort to fill canceled seats, but it is not always possible. If we cannot fill your seats, your credit card will be charged for any unsold tickets. If you fail to show up for your tour or arrive late, your credit card will be charged for the seats you have reserved.

Just Ducky Tours does not double charge for seats. If the card was charged on file it was due to the fact that the seats were not able to be sold once we were notified of the group not going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Nice tour but I am tall at 6ft and my husband is 6ft 4inches so the seats were tight for us but we made do and we do understand that these are ww2 made so not a complaint. Nice tour a little too many jokes and im not a quacker but my husband liked it. I wish the tops of the ducks were see through becuase you cant see much in the city especially the tops of the high buildings. It was nice that the kids got to steer in the river but only saw the same part of the river up and back and up and back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jen13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wet-n-dry, fun hour around Pgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The tour is pricey- $22.00. However, you get a prime look around 'dauntawn' in a charmingly narrated WW2 vintage landing boat, which has been converted into a bus/watertaxi. We learned and laughed at the same time. 4 or 5 people were given the opportunity to steer the craft when we were asea in the Ohio River.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyraGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Just Ducky Tours, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Just Ducky Tours, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing