We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Night's Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Ranked #3 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A Perfect Night's Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a true gem with amazing architectural features and furnishings. We could not have been happier with our spacious and immaculate accommodations and the location was superb. In addition, the homemade breakfast was absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpookyMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    33
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
115
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Could not have been happier with our stay. Ed IS the perfect host. The property is AMAZING; our dog was welcomed in one of the carriage houses, and, there was no separate "pet fee"! We already booked for a return visit. You will not be disappointed - breakfast, location, furnishings, amenities, parking, safe area - you'll have it all.
PS We had no issue with water pressure in carriage house (mentioned by another reviewer).

Room Tip: Steep steps in carriage houses. Pass available for fitness center, located nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acjcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently took advantage of the "3 for 2" offer, valid Sunday thru Thursday nights, which made the stay exceptionally good value. Photographs do not do the Parador Inn justice–it is breath-takingly beautiful. Ed has successfully gone to great lengths to create an oasis, both inside and out, that is very conveniently located on the North Side of Pittsburgh. It is within easy walk of the "T" which takes you into downtown for free, although the walk is extremely pleasant and picturesque and takes only about 20 minutes. The neighborhood has a lot of interesting buildings and restaurants, and Ed is happy to make suggestions. All of the rooms are gorgeous, colorful, and spacious, even the smallest, the Bird of Paradise, which has a king-size bed and enormous claw foot tub that quickly fills to the brim with luxurious hot water. House-keeping is efficiently handled by the delightful, friendly Dee. If you can bear to leave the beauty and charm of your room, you will be greeted with a delicious home baked breakfast of fruit parfaits, breads, and one of oatmeal, quiche, french toast, etc. served with bacon on the side. Be sure to relax in the garden and enjoy the company of the labs, RJ and Razor. No hotel can match the beauty and tranquility of the Parador. I cannot recommend it highly enough and definitely want to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easton, pa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I was in town for a board meeting and could not have been happier with my stay here. Amazing architectural detail, well thought out rooms and common spaces, delicious breakfast. So convenient to the highway and to the stadium area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culinarytraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The main house is absolutely gorgeous, interesting Carribean flavor woven throughout this regal mansion. Lovely courtyard and a very friendly black lab named RJ, was very welcoming. Full homemade breakfast, served in the striking dining room. Our room was in the carriage house and was much more modest in comparison to the rest of the house. Water pressure could be improved in the shower and décor in our particular room could be more cohesive with the rest of the main house. Other than that, really enjoyed the location, easy to walk downtown from here.

Room Tip: Choose room in the main house; carriage house rooms modest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Before I even arrived at The Parador Inn, I knew I'd found a great thing. Chain hotels several miles from downtown started at $100/night. Downtown hotels approached $200/night, plus $20/day for parking. For $150/night, I could see the Parador Inn was close to downtown (near the stadiums, just across Allegheny), parking was free, breakfast included, and I'd booked what amounted to two private sleeping rooms under the guise of one room (the Bougainvillea) at the same rate - which was important as I wanted to be removed from my snoring father.

On check-in, I was even more impressed. The house is vast and amazing, a true old mansion. Ed has brought a Caribbean touch to this Victorian home with a subtle hand. It's not kitchy, gaudy, hokey, or tacky. It's elegant and adds a comfortable, breezy feel to what could easily be a stuffy old mansion. You'll want to take pictures of the whole property, I promise. And look up! The ceilings in the common rooms are fascinating, and I didn't even notice them till the third night.

Ed himself was the perfect proprietor. Helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, but also efficient. Available, but not particularly chatty. He's also a great cook, and we had three diverse and interesting breakfasts across three mornings. Again, the perfect balance. This isn't scrambled eggs and toast, but unique and very satisfying dishes, all meats on the side (vegetarian friendly!), accompanied by a yogurt parfait (which my father in particular loved each day) and different fresh baked sweet bread each morning.

The last happy surprise was just how convenient The Parador Inn is. It's located in a great neighborhood - not exactly a bustling, trendy hub, but a quiet old Victorian district with several chic modern restaurants just a block or two away (with fast food chains as close in the opposite direction if you're on a quickie budget). You can easily wind down the last few hours of an exhausting day of Pittsburgh sightseeing by strolling around this area before crashing in your room. The Inn is literally three short blocks from the highway, couldn't be easier to find on your first day. And for access to Downtown, it's a five minute walk to the light rail, and in the free fare zone, so you can go back and forth from Downtown in minutes for no charge. In fact, Pittsburgh is so walkable and safe, one night after dark we were at Point State Park downtown and we walked across the bridge back to the hotel - 22 minutes total.

Skip the hotels. And you won't find a better-located B&B in Pittsburgh. Stay here and I promise you won't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinandrew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. VA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely old mansion with a kind and attentive host. Our room, the Bougainvillea, was roomy (tho very small bathroom). The garden is beautiful and relaxing, the mansion has a lot of space to spread out in public rooms. Breakfast was hearty and served fresh. Would not stress the Caribbean theme as it wasn't why we chose The Parador. The inn is super convenient to the ballpark, there is a beautiful park down the street and host Ed is as nice as they come. Oh, the price is Right!! A great value for the convenience and free parking. I'd definitely consider a return visit if I need to be in Pittsburgh again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tntcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,716 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Property: The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Address: 939 Western Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15233-1717
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Caribbean in Pittsburgh, come to The Parador. Formerly the Rhodes Mansion built in 1870. Free off street parking, walking distance to Downtown, full hot American breakfast, large Courtyard and abundant public space are but a few of the amenities all guests enjoy. Plan your event in the 2,700 square foot ballroom, built by the Knights of Columbus in the 1930s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parador Inn Of Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing