We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth finding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We arrived late at night and we had to pay close attention to the directions to find it, but it was a great stay. BTW, the Hampton Inn directions said it was off exit 4, but it was clear as we got closer that it was going to be exit 67. A tiny sign indicated that this was "Old exit 4" We got the last room, on the first floor next to the exercise room, that they had that night and it completely comfortable and nice. They had a dehumidifier in the room instead of using air freshener - three cheers for that. My son wanted a sandwich even though it was late and the vending machine choices were terrific. Lovely bkfst with real fruit slices. Although it was a little hard to find, it is actually very convenient for the city and the airport. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYt0AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

NYt0AZ,
I am glad to hear that we were “worth finding!” I am glad that you found hotel’s location convenient to downtown and the airport, and you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. I look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here 2 nights for our first visit to Pittsburgh. It was an excellent location, quiet, yet only a minute or two from the interstate exit. It was a good location for visiting Pitt and PNC Park/Heinz Field. As a couple of other reviewers pointed out, locating the hotel can be a little tricky since it is difficult to see from the road, so follow your directions/GPS carefully!

The room was very clean and served our purposes well. It was a little tight with the rollaway and 2 queens, but sufficient. The breakfast area was nice; it had a good amount of seating, but can fill up at peak breakfast times. The breakfast food was also good; typical of a Hampton.

Only negative I have was that the air conditioning unit was loud, but I'm not sure if there's anything they can do about it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richmo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Richmo058,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hampton Inn Greentree. Because of feedback like yours we are a few weeks away from starting a lobby renovation that will expand our seating area to accommodate more guests during breakfast. We are also in the process of switching over to a quieter HVAC unit that will allow a constant fan option. We hope to see you the next time you are in Pittsburgh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here in order to attend a Saturday Pirates game. This facility is close to downtown and fairly easy to get to. Overall, we were very pleased. The room was clean and the free breakfast was a nice bonus. Parking was well lit and we felt very safe and secure. A good value for what we needed!

Room Tip: We had a room in the front of the building - 222. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda23238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Linda23238,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Greentree. We want all of our guests to feel they were offered a good value at a safe location. We know you have many choices when you travel and we are glad you chose to stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Glad I had my GPS when driving to this hotel, because it's not easy to find. It's located in a beautiful, quiet setting, which is great, but the closest restaurants are several miles away, and the roads getting there are winding, narrow, and often traffic clogged. The rooms themselves are on the small side, but the beds were comfy, everything was very clean, and the WiFi worked well. On the down side, the doors to the rooms are very heavy and do not shut without slamming, so we could hear doors closing all night long. Not to mention we could hear other guests talking and laughing in the hallway until the wee hours of the morning. Another sleep-disturber was the air conditioning unit, which was very loud when cycling on and off -- which it did about every 15 to 20 minutes. I wish the unit had a constant fan option, because when it cycled off, the room became stuffy very quickly. All-in-all it was an average stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arlo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Arlo89,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. While an average stay is not what we want our guests to experience, I do understand that noise issues can greatly affect your experience. It is because of feedback like yours that we are in the process of upgrading our HVAC units to a quieter model that does offer a constant fan option. If you have any other suggestions that would have made your stay excellent rather than average we want to know about them! Your concerns are our concerns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Yes! I would stay here again. Service was friendly. Our room was quiet. The room was clean, the bed was very confortable. Linens were white cotton, not the heavy dirty bedspreads you find sometimes in hotels. Pillows soft down-like. Free breakfast was good, something different each day and a more than adequate selection. Staff was cleaning up and refilling everything the entire time. They offered a cocktail hour one evening. Shuttle service was great. Took us to all of our destinations. The pool was sparkling and the exercise room clean. I could not have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Evelyn737,
It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Our goal is to make sure every guest has the same experience you did. We want to offer a clean and comfortable room, with a friendly and knowledgeable staff at a great value to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We took a spur-of-the-moment trip to Pittsburgh over Memorial Day weekend. We stayed at the Hampton Inn Greentree on the strength of prior Tripadvisor reviews, and it did not disappoint.

The hotel was a little difficult to find, but not overly so. The check-in staff was wonderful, kindly offering us tips on and menus for nearby restaurants. (We opted for a nearby carry-out pizza joint called Mario's, by the way, which was excellent.) The room and bedding were clean. The swimming pool was also clean and the kids had a blast during a late evening swim. The noodles, balls and other pool-side toys were a simple but very nice touch. Our room was comfortable and quiet, and we got a great night's sleep.

The continental breakfast was basic but nicely executed, and a very nice hotel employee who was periodically cleaning up the eating area offered and gave the kids (after asking me first) Pittsburgh-themed "silly bands." This too was a simple touch, but generous and much appreciated by the little ones.

The location, the property, and the service were excellent. We won't hesitate to stay here again the next time we're back in the Pittsburgh area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baker1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Baker1997,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! I am glad that you and your family were able to enjoy our outdoor swimming pool over Memorial Day weekend. We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

As per the title, the location of this hotel was great! On my way to Pittsburgh from the airport, close to town, yet still outside of the hustle and bustle. The hotel was a little older but plenty nice. One of the larger Hampton's I've stayed in. My kind bed room was suprisingly large. The bed was comfortable, wifi worked well, and work area was nice; typical for most Hamptons.

It was easy to get in and out of town due to the location and very easy to get back to the airport. I will definitely stay here again.

Overall - Nice staff, slightly dated, GREAT location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billycanojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Billycanojr,
I am so glad that you enjoyed the location of our Hampton Inn! Like you said it is a great spot if you want to be between the airport and downtown. We know we are an older property, but our staff strives to compensate with friendly service and clean, comfortable rooms. I am glad this is what you experienced while staying with us. We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 72 in Pittsburgh
176 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree

Address: 555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £67 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree hotel is three miles away from downtown Pittsburgh and the North Shore - providing free shuttle to and from local businesses and nearby attractions. We're located 10 miles away or less from: the Pittsburgh Zoo, Oakland University Center, Andy Warhol Museum, CONSOL Energy Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, Kennywood Amusement Park, University of Pittsburgh, PNC Park and more. Our clean, comfortable guest rooms include free WiFi, hot breakfast, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing