We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel At A Nice Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel At A Nice Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband I stayed at the Hampton Inn Green Tree when we visited Pittsburgh because I cross-checked a deal on hotels.com with reviews on TripAdvisor. We were very happy with our choice for many reasons.

1) Great hospitality. The staff was excellent. They not only checked us in early, but they were very friendly and answered all of our questions about the area. They are so well-prepared for visitors they had pre-printed restaurant guides and pre-printed direction cards for movie theaters, neighborhoods in Pittsburgh, landmarks, etc. There is also a 24 hour coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar that is kept spotless. The hard candies in the glass jar on the front desk was a nice touch, too.

2) The rooms were great. For $101/night, I wasn't sure what we would get, but it was nice. It was clearly recently remodeled with new furniture, new fixtures in the bathroom, a minifridge, plenty of outlets, a love seat with 2 ottomen (ottomans??? Never had to make that plural before!), a space-saving rolling desk, a lapdesk, flatscreen TV with HBO and a very comfy bed.

3) Convenience. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because of the shuttle service. It runs frequently and to the parts of the city most people want to see. My husband and I ended up driving around the city rather than taking the shuttle due to weather and the eclectic things we wanted to see and do, but it was nice knowing it was there. It's also in a great location - close to everything you'd want to do.

4) Breakfast buffet wasn't bad at all. I wasn't sure what to expect, but it there was something for everyone. Hot dishes, cold dishes, something for everyone. it's not breakfast at a 5 star restaurant, but it will get your day started off on a fully tummy.

My only quibble is the doors let a lot of sound through at times. We could hear a lot of talking in the hallway. Also, we had a room that adjoined the one next door; although we obviously kept the door closed and locked, we could still hear the conversations sometimes.

I wold definitely stay here again! Great job, Hampton Inn Green Tree!!!

Room Tip: People traveling with animals usually stay on the first floor, so keep that in mind when you are req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heedybeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Heedybeedy,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! I want every guest to leave as satisfied as you were. I look forward you seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    292
    104
    32
    17
See reviews for
344
285
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean roads. Close to freeway, but rooms were not noisy. We had to travel quite a distance for an evening meal. Breakfast at the hotel was very busy, we had to sit on the reception sofas.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Penny E,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hampton Inn Greentree with us! We want all of our guest to enjoy clean, comfortable rooms and friendly service. I am glad we were able to deliver! We are in the process of preparing for a lobby renovation that will add seating to accommodate those busy mornings. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great Hampton Inn. Location is close to interstate, and within short driving distance to resturants, shopping, and downtown. No resturants or shopping within walking distance. Very nice pool area for. Rooms are very clean and updated. Free WIFI, is a plus. Breakfast was very good. Nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AD_Hale4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
AD_Hale4,
Thanks for choosing the Hampton Inn Greentree for your visit to Pittsburgh! I am glad that you liked the location of our hotel, and enjoyed a clean and comfortable room while you were here. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spent two nights and loved it. The breakfast was great. I loved the shuttle service to and from Pittsburgh. The girls behind the desk were amazingly friendly but not fake. Both nights we were there,Tuesday and Wednesday, they had a happy hour at the hotel and provided hot dogs, soft pretzels, chips, wine, soda and beer for free.

Room Tip: during the summer they have a dampness issue on the first floor during very humid weather. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Nigel257,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad you were able to take advantage of all of the great amenities we offer our guests! We want all of our guests to experience friendly service and a great value. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The half-way spot on a 3000 mile road trip, we arrived exhausted after a wreck on the Turnpike delayed our travel by hours. Curious to explore the city further, we decided to extend our stay by 3 additional days; however, we'd made an online reservation, months before, for just a single night. As the property was really booked up, they didn't have much available for our desired room type. But Amy D., the assistant GM--hers in the only hotel employee business card I retained on our entire trip-- just jumped through hoops to accommodate our last minute extension. Which was complicated due to a 'regular' who was arriving soon and apparently always requests our exact room number! It was beyond impressive how she somehow honored this other guest's request yet made switching us, mid-stay to another room, so very seamless. If only all hotels had an Amy. 

The property is, by my Dallas standards, kinda off the beaten path. But it turned out to be a short drive into the city; as I hate driving at night in unfamiliar places, the complimentary shuttle service proved prompt and convenient.

The rooms were spotless. The furnishings were clean, everything worked properly, and I slept like a baby on a divine mattress and super clean linens. The hallways were quiet (or the walls nice and thick) and we had zero problems with anything: a rarity for picky old me. When my hubby needed a certain kind of computer cable, he was allowed to sort through the many options they kept behind the front desk. Service w/ a smile.

Though I'm not a huge fan of hotel breakfast buffet-style offerings, the set up was tended to constantly and pretty yummy. We noticed when Amy wasn't with a customer, she'd walk out from behind the front desk and personally tidy the breakfast area-- a task usually delegated to a lower ranking employee. The superlative management skills of higher ups means the trickle down effect benefits every aspect of this hotel. I'm a sucker for the dying art of customer service and a good old fashioned work ethic! 

Parking fills up fast and so we had to hike a bit further than I prefer, but this is about my only gripe--a very small one. 

On check out, a cheaper weekend rate was honored for all our additional weekday nights. Pretty sweet! And a nice way to end our time there. 

Take heed all you upscale properties, this suburban business class hotel could give you a run for your money at a fraction of the price. An incredibly pleasant, clean, quiet stay w/ accommodating staff. We liked Pittsburgh so much--an opinion definitely aided by our positive experience here--that we're headed back soon. And we'll make a beeline to the Hampton Greentree. 

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Ella K,
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you while you enjoyed our city for an extra few days. Your review lets us know that all of the hard work our staff puts in is noticed by our guests. I want all of our guests to experience the same clean and comfortable rooms with friendly service that you did. Thanks again for the kind words, and we can’t wait to have you stay with us again!
Amy D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We arrived late at night and we had to pay close attention to the directions to find it, but it was a great stay. BTW, the Hampton Inn directions said it was off exit 4, but it was clear as we got closer that it was going to be exit 67. A tiny sign indicated that this was "Old exit 4" We got the last room, on the first floor next to the exercise room, that they had that night and it completely comfortable and nice. They had a dehumidifier in the room instead of using air freshener - three cheers for that. My son wanted a sandwich even though it was late and the vending machine choices were terrific. Lovely bkfst with real fruit slices. Although it was a little hard to find, it is actually very convenient for the city and the airport. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYt0AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
NYt0AZ,
I am glad to hear that we were “worth finding!” I am glad that you found hotel’s location convenient to downtown and the airport, and you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. I look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here 2 nights for our first visit to Pittsburgh. It was an excellent location, quiet, yet only a minute or two from the interstate exit. It was a good location for visiting Pitt and PNC Park/Heinz Field. As a couple of other reviewers pointed out, locating the hotel can be a little tricky since it is difficult to see from the road, so follow your directions/GPS carefully!

The room was very clean and served our purposes well. It was a little tight with the rollaway and 2 queens, but sufficient. The breakfast area was nice; it had a good amount of seating, but can fill up at peak breakfast times. The breakfast food was also good; typical of a Hampton.

Only negative I have was that the air conditioning unit was loud, but I'm not sure if there's anything they can do about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richmo058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Richmo058,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hampton Inn Greentree. Because of feedback like yours we are a few weeks away from starting a lobby renovation that will expand our seating area to accommodate more guests during breakfast. We are also in the process of switching over to a quieter HVAC unit that will allow a constant fan option. We hope to see you the next time you are in Pittsburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
3.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,771 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Airport South / Robinson Township
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
Address: 555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree hotel is three miles away from downtown Pittsburgh and the North Shore - providing free shuttle to and from local businesses and nearby attractions. We're located 10 miles away or less from: the Pittsburgh Zoo, Oakland University Center, Andy Warhol Museum, CONSOL Energy Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, Kennywood Amusement Park, University of Pittsburgh, PNC Park and more. Our clean, comfortable guest rooms include free WiFi, hot breakfast, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing