We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place.”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have stayed here several times when visiting our daughter at the Univ. of Pittsburgh. It's only about 15 minutes from campus and located conveniently near shops and restaurants. Hampton Inn's are a favorite place to stay. It's clean, the breakfast is good, the rooms are comfortable, and there is free wifi. The staff are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NETTIE61a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    305
    107
    34
    18
See reviews for
359
292
55
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The room and accommodations are clean comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is good, the hotel lobby has plenty of sitting area and is comfortable. They have a complimentary happy hour during 3 weekday evenings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Garth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to Pittsburgh to watch a football game on a Sunday night and a hockey game on the monday night. We travelled down Sunday and checked in around dinner time.

Complementary Transportation: At the time of check in I asked about the transportation service to the stadium. The service is an 11 passenger van, and on a game day, it fills up fast. You can only book the service after you arive at the hotel, you can not do so in advance. We were lucky and got on one of the last runs that would get us there before game time. They drop you off (for free - though I recommend tipping the driver)by a subway station, that is also free, which will take you to the stadium. Very easy!! They also inform you where you will be picked up, and leave you with the hotel's phone number in case you need an earlier pick up. On pick-up, if there are more than 11 people, obviously first come, first serve. Some peope were annoyed by this, but lets be honest, after a huge game you cannot expect the hotel to transport a stadium worth of people all at once. We took the same free transportation to the city to shop, and to the hockey arena. The service will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. This was super helpful because it saved on parking and or taxi cab fares, and it meant we did not have to struggle navigating a fairly confusing city.

Complementary Breakfast: They had a complementary HOT breakfast that changed up every morning we were there. They had eggs (sometimes scrambled, sometimes fried, always a hard-boiled option), make your own waffles, some sort of breakfast meat (sausage, bacon etc.), oatmeal, cereal, fruit, pancakes... etc. It was fantastic. Also, if you were in a rush to head out, they would pack a breakfast or lunch for you to go (very helpful for anyone in town on business). There was also complementary coffee and tea all day and night available by the front desk.

Service: I thought the front desk staff were very helpful. They provided information about resturants close by, informed me how the transportation systems worked, and made me fresh tea at 2am when coming home from the game because the hot water had become cold, and accomodated my dairy allergy during breakfasts after I asked. I would say they were exceptional.

Rooms: The room was one of my favourite parts. It was pretty standard, comfortable and clean. It had all of the ammenities we have become accustomed to (coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron, etc) However, it had both a mini fridge (empty), and a microwave. This was great because I was able to take homeleft overs and reheat them to eat later. A small thing that actually made a big difference.

Location: It is a little bit off the beaten trail, being that it is not located in the city centre. However, it is close to dining locations, and the price reflects the location. I would much rather pay less and be a bit outside of the city, than pay more for location. Also, with the free shuttle service, being a bit further away was a non-issue. They hotel is easy to find, viewable from the main road, but not directly on it (so you do not hear traffic noises while you sleep).

I would 100% stay in this hotel again and reccomend it to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelhappy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnson city, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

great hotel, staff are so friendly and helpful. we are building a house in pittsburgh so have stayed many times over the past 4 yrs. this is clean, breakfast really good, quiet, very clean, shuttle drivers, Ron, John_great tour guides

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel after a water pipe in my home burst. The hotel staff was excellent and helped get me settled in on an extremely cold night. Very clean and welcoming. Parking is included (self-park). All standard Hampton amenities are available - free breakfast, wifi, coffee/teas, etc. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Kensington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just loved staying at the Hampton. The staff was just great and accommodating to a large group of us. The beds were quite comfortable and the room inviting. The shuttle driver was informative and extremely helpful. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Fair rate.
Friendly staff.
Nice, clean room.
Good coffee and breakfast selection.
Quiet.
Room was overly warm though.
Did not use pool or work out area.

I would gladly stay there again on my next business trip.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
3.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,929 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
3.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
Address: 555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree hotel is three miles away from downtown Pittsburgh and the North Shore - providing free shuttle to and from local businesses and nearby attractions. We're located 10 miles away or less from: the Pittsburgh Zoo, Oakland University Center, Andy Warhol Museum, CONSOL Energy Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, Kennywood Amusement Park, University of Pittsburgh, PNC Park and more. Our clean, comfortable guest rooms include free WiFi, hot breakfast, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing