We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at the Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was very happy with the staff, room, breakfast and facilities at this hotel. The breakfast had more choices than most hotels I've been too and the food tasted very good. The beds and room were comfortable and quiet and the location was close enough to downtown Pittsburgh to make it a short trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank gwakkuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our first trip to Pittsburgh and we will visit the city again in the near future.
We arrived late in the afternoon and booked here for the night (GPS guided) because it is not not far from mount Washington but we don't intend to stay at this hotel again.
In comparison to many hotels that we stayed at, the staff was nice and everything else was fairly good except for one thing.
The rooms on the back of the hotel are in close proximity to a downhill road that is almost level to the 5th floor and there are trucks going downhill absolutely all night and... they do use the engine breaks.
I'm not kidding, we couldn't sleep pretty much all night because it was one truck after the other going downhill and using the engine breaks. We were always waiting for the last truck to go by but the trucks only stopped around 4AM and by then, we didn't sleep much. Normally, we don't complain and also didn't feel compelled to complain this time in the middle of the night after a 5 and half hours drive.
In the morning, at coffee time, I exposed the situation and the exact answer was: "that is why our clients ask for the rooms at the front of the hotel".
I feel that the staff should advise of this situation before they book any room at the back of the hotel, so the client can make an informed decision.
Moreover, I think that if the management knows of this ongoing situation, they should contact the county, or whoever is responsible and add a sign to stop the trucks from using that road during the night.
If heavy traffic absolutely cannot be diverted, at the very least they should add a "do not use engine breaks" sign on the street.
To me, having a good night sleep was very important and I didn't have it.
Thanks for the stay but I'll book somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you are looking for a fair priced Hilton hotel close enough to Pittsburgh to enjoy the City but far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle, this is the place. The staff was very friendly and professional... ALL staff would greet you when you saw them. Granted, the building is older but it is clear that it has been remodeled - and remodeled well. There is ONLY an outdoor pool, with no hot tub (would have been a nice addition). The nice thing is that this Hampton provides a shuttle service once an hour throughout the day that runs until around 9pm or 10pm. The shuttle has several stops around the downtown Pittsburgh area. Keep in mind, though, that with Pittsburgh traffic, the short 3-4 mile ride can take 15-20 minutes depending on which stop you're heading to. All in all, the perfect place to stay if you don't want to be right in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We chose this hotel for 3 reasons: the proximity to Heinz Field, the free shuttle to that venue, and the price. The room was a bit small (king size bed) but the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom looked nice and updated. We were only there overnight but the hotel made it easy to enjoy the reason for our visit which was to see a football game. The shuttle doesn't drop off at the actual venue, it is a short walk through a park and over a bridge. We had no need to ask directions, just follow the jerseys!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Nora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Extremely pleased with managers reception offered Monday thru Wednesday, the fact that the breakfast offerings changes somewhat daily & shuttle service offered at this location which we used to go to the PNC park. We were here 4 nights and would stay again at this location should I we travel to Pittsburgh again. Also the location was ideal for us being just outside the city center.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here the night before moving our son into University of Pittsburgh. It was clean and quiet with a great hot breakfast. During rush hour on move in day it took 45 minutes to get to Pitt. It takes 15 minutes if it's not rush hour.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniceb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

For the price difference compared to downtown Pittsburgh, this is a good option at a good price.

The hotel is a bit smallish but nothing bad. I was told the lobby was renovated in 2012 or so but the rest of the hotel was OK. Breakfast was good standard fare.

It was not a big issue, but be aware to allow 15-20 minutes (even though it is just 5 miles) to go downtown due to traffic on the highway into town. It seems to be just congestion due to awkward roads into the tunnel.

Nothing to brag, and nothing to complain. Very Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree

Address: 555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £69 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree hotel is three miles away from downtown Pittsburgh and the North Shore - providing free shuttle to and from local businesses and nearby attractions. We're located 10 miles away or less from: the Pittsburgh Zoo, Oakland University Center, Andy Warhol Museum, CONSOL Energy Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, Kennywood Amusement Park, University of Pittsburgh, PNC Park and more. Our clean, comfortable guest rooms include free WiFi, hot breakfast, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing