We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is THE hotel for the University of Pittsburgh. It is reasonably nice but a little large for my tastes. Unfortunately the pool was under maintenance when I stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review of your guest experience at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

Your comment "This is THE hotel for the University of Pittsburgh" made my day. That comment says it all. Thank you.

I should point out as well that the swimming pool improvements have been completed and is available for you during your next visit.

Thank you and best regards, Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,400 - 1,406 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great location. Can't sleep at all. HVAC unit is totally unacceptable as a comfort feature. In the fall, we couldn't sleep as the AC would start and stop all night. You would freeze when it was on, and it was loud. You would feel hot when it stopped. You then lie at night waiting for it to click on again. This winter, we couldn't sleep as we would hear it loudly blow heat, which was nice, but then it stops and you lie there waiting for it to cycle on and blow heat again, and again, and again. If the hotel wasn't in such a prime location to U of Pitt, we would NEVER stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your guest experience with you, and can be reached via email at chughes@wyndham.com or my direct dial telephone number of 412. 682. 6235.

Thank you,

Coleman Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed twice at the Wyndham while my visiting Pitt and the location could not be better. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Breakfast is quick and tasty (great bacon). The pool was a little cool on our first visit in Sept 2013. My one complaint was being awoken at 8:20 on a Sunday morning by hallway vacuuming right outside my door.... I don't even mow my lawn until 10.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank always-ramblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

Thank you for your insightful comments regarding our excellent location and clean and well-appointed guest rooms. I appreciate your comment regarding corridor vacuuming at 8:20 am on a Sunday. It is a point well taken. We will heighten our sensitivity with respect to engaging in any housekeeping activities which could disturb our guests in the early morning hours during the weekends.

Again, thank you for your comments, and thank you for your loyalty to the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center. I appreciate and value your business.

Best regards, Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Bargotron
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Avery T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn University Center
Quality Inn University Center
#54 of 72 in Pittsburgh
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
1.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Address: 100 Lytton Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £108 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location in the heart of Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood and just steps from Carnegie Mellon and several world-renowned UPMC hospitals, the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center hotel exemplifies the best among Pittsburgh hotels. Travelers looking for a hotel in the center of Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and walking distance to University of Pittsburgh will find this non-smoking hotel ideal, and leisure travelers will delight in the myriad of sporting events, shopping, dining and renowned attractions offered in the Pittsburgh area and within easy reach of this hotel. After a long day of travel, guests can unwind with a relaxing dip in the heated indoor pool. Bridges Restaurant and Lounge offers upscale yet casual dining and affords guests the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner without needing to leave the hotel. A fully equipped fitness center is available for those who like to stay active or enjoy relieving the stress of a long day of conducting business. Guests enjoy the convenience of ample parking, available for a nominal daily fee, or may choose to leave the driving to the hotel by taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle service offered within a three-mile radius of this Pittsburgh University Center hotel. Each of the 251 well-appointed guest rooms includes thoughtful amenities like plush bedding, an ergonomic work station, and free Wi-Fi Internet. Guests upgrading to an Executive Level room enjoy a private, key-access floor, plush bathrobe and access to the private club lounge. This Pittsburgh hotel features seven newly renovated meeting rooms totaling 7,333 square feet of meeting space. The event rooms range from a 400-square foot event room that comfortably seats 25 people to a 3,500 square foot ballroom that accommodates up to 600 people for a reception, 250 people for a banquet, or 30 8X10 feet exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing