We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Write a Review

4,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    1,237
    1,145
    621
    332
See reviews for
839
856
131
1,773
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. Unfortunately, that is where it stops. The rooms were very small and cramped. Not even room for a stand for your suitcase. The bathroom was also tiny and cramped. The lounge was so dark, we had to use our cell phones to read the menu. The price of parking is outrageous. And, to top it all off, the Pirates (who are in a pennant race) were not on in the guest rooms. I was told by the front desk that I had to go to the lounge or lobby to watch them. WE WERE IN PITTSBURGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for choosing our property for your Pittsburgh visit. We are very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We do have several different room types and sizes that you may find more appealing should your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant Mills
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

/what a beautiful location and view if facing the river, otherwise courtyard or parking garage. Rooms are quite small but efficient for you needs. Wish there would have been a refrigerator (mini) to utilize for the visit. Room was very dusty, first thought it was sparkles in the finish, but nope, just lots of dust. Sheets are not fitted either so be careful opening the bed, sheets pull loose.. Bed was very comfortable!Valet parking was full so parking needed to be in nearby garage, be prepared for an expense. Great location to everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Raeellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Raeellen, Thank you for choosing the Wyndham brand for your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will review your concern about the dust with our housekeeping team and focus on improving. We do have a limited supply of refrigerators available to our guests on a first come basis, and all of our suites do have refrigerators as a standard. We hope if your plans bring you back to Pittsburgh, we have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked a weekend stay at this hotel as part of a travel package at the official Pittsburgh travel site. ( visitpittsburgh.com).

I was a little apprehensive about the hotel, especially after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. But having just returned form a weekend getaway to Pittsburgh, I can say that I was pleased with the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh.

The renovations mentioned in many previous reviews are largely complete. There is still some minor construction going on near the front entrance, but nothing that hindered access to the property, or that became an inconvenience during our stay.

The hotel is easy to get to from the major freeways into Pittsburgh, and is in a great location, close to restaurants, stadiums, and many places of interest. We were able to park our car and walk to just about everything we wanted to do, and for the things that were further away, the hotel staff was only too happy to provide easy directions for taking public transportation or driving. (For example, we used the free T subway service to get to the casino)

Speaking of parking:

MANY of the reviews here talk about how awful the valet parking service is at this hotel. Our experience was anything BUT awful.

We arrived at 2:30PM on a Friday, and before we were even out of the car, we were promptly met by a bellman, who summoned a valet. Within 5 minutes, the car was parked in the valet lot, and we were checking into the hotel. We retrieved our car on Saturday to do some museum hopping, and were prepared to wait a bit for the car to be brought to the front of the hotel. We waited 5 minutes. That's it. 5 minutes. When we returned later that evening, (In the middle of everyone arriving for a Steelers game I might add,) we were out of the car and it was on its way back to the valet lot within 5 minutes. The valet service was quick, efficient and friendly. (I have to wonder if the folks complaining about the valet service remembered to tip their parking valet. A little monetary appreciation can do a lot to ensure great service)

Check in was very fast, perhaps due to the time of day, but I found the front desk staff to be very welcoming and friendly. (That goes for ALL of the staff we interacted with during our stay. Everyone had a smile and a hello, even in passing.)

Our room was small, but as someone who has traveled to a lot of other cities, I've had smaller rooms and paid a lot more money. (But seriously, what do you need? A hotel room is a place to sleep and shower. I don't travel to stay in the room all day. If you do, maybe you should just stay home and save the cash.) The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the bathroom was well stocked with towels and other amenities. Other reviews have mentioned the layout of the shower, and I will agree that they could be designed better, but over all, it wasn't anything that would totally spoil the experience. And while the TV service wasn't HD, that isn't a major problem. Again, I don't travel to stay in the room and watch TV.

Previous reviewers have also mentioned the amount of noise that can enter the rooms from hallways / other rooms. That will happen in MANY hotels, especially older ones. The level of outside noise in our room was never excessive, even as the Saturday night football crowd began to arrive back at the hotel after the game.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on Saturday morning and the staff was very friendly, and the food very good. The breakfast buffet was well stocked, and presented a variety of items, including a made to order omelet bar. (A note about hotel food prices: Yes, they are higher than other places close by , but remember that you are paying for the convenience of not having to leave the property to eat. If you don't want to pay hotel prices for a meal, then go outside the building to eat. It's that simple.)

The cocktail lounge presented a nice relaxing atmosphere for a nightcap after a long day exploring the city. The staff in the lounge was great, and we were made to feel welcome, even as they were dealing (professionally) with a rather obnoxious group of over served man-children that were in the lounge as a continuation of a bachelor party.

Overall, our experience at the Wyndham Grand was a good one. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and convenient place to stay while exploring all that Pittsburgh has to offer.

Room Tip: 1: Choose a room that faces the city, not the park. While the view on the park side is great, the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us for your getaway weekend, and especially for sharing your kind and informative feedback. We hope your travels include a return visit to Pittsburgh, when we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing