We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    1,266
    1,176
    644
    347
See reviews for
871
883
138
1,812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent two weekend nights here. I had spent numerous nights here when it was under the Hilton brand. I got a very good rate and found the Wyndham Grand a very good value for downtown Pittsburgh.
Keep in mind this hotel was built in the late 1950's-early 60"s. It was recently redone and re-branded. But, some rooms are a bit tight.The one I had on the 20th floor was fine for two adults who spend most time out doing things.

For first timers, try to get a room facing the point. Having lived in Pittsburgh and having traveled there frequently over the years . . . the view doesn't mean much to me when choosing a room.
Our room was very clean. Amenities were up to date. It was comfortable and attractive but a bit small. All staff was courteous.

A mid-size convention was being held in the facility . . . that can be an annoyance anywhere. However we had no problems with noise or misbehavior. My impression was that it was a rather "tame" gathering as conventions go! Glad we didn't have the experience of another recent rater here.

Downtown Pittsburgh is very compact and walkable. The T stop (free downtown/north shore subway) is a bout 100 yards fro the back of the Wyndham. One parking garage is underground opposite the hotel. If you self park on weekends it can be as low as $10 per night. Many other downtown garages (in walking distance) are $5 per day after 4PM Friday until 5 AM Monday. That is hard to beat in most big cities. There are numerous restaurants nearby.

We had tickets to a show at the Benedum Center. It was a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel. the same is true for Heinz Hall, Byham Theater, O'Reilly and Harris Theaters. Both stadiums are within an easy and pleasant walk across the Allegheny River. (Alternatively for stadium or casino access use the free T service).

Pittsburgh was a great place to live and remains a great place to visit. In addition to visiting downtown and southside, be sure to get to Oakland and the University of Pittsburgh campus (Cathedral of Learning & Heinz Chapel) and Carnegie Museum of Natural History (excellent small collection of dinosaur skeletons) etc.

The Wyndham Grand is a good choice if you like downtown and want to book a traditional full-service hotel: restaurants, concierge, valet parking.

Room Tip: For first time visitors, the view over the "point" is very nice. We prefer rooms on higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEDMAD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and very much appreciate your candid feedback. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, if you have an occasion to return to our fine city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My friends and I booked this hotel for $99 a night. I would not spend more than this on a room here. It was pretty clean, but it was so very small for four adults. The bed had about 3 feet from the TV stand, which gave us hardly any room for four women to put their suitcases. The beds were exceptionally comfortable, but again, they were full size beds and it was just very cramped. I guess you get what you pay for...
The location was excellent..historic square was right down the street for morning coffee and late night drinks. We could also hop on the public transportation system with a 3 minute walk. I would stay again, but would definitely request a bigger room.

Room Tip: We had room that overlooked the park-was a tad noisy, but nice view of the incline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becalm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We appreciate that you and your friends chose to stay with us recently, and regret your room size was not suitable for your needs. We do have several different room types and sizes which you may find more appealing on a future visit. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again, should your plans bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Room was well maintained. I did become concern when receiving an imposing phone call forcing me to contact hotel security. Hotel security did excellent job. My only concern was an inability of the hotel to check caller id coming from incoming calls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Thomas, We enjoyed having you stay with us and appreciate your candid feedback. We are glad to know our security team assisted you accordingly. If you have plans to return to the area, we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Date of visit: July 4, 2014. The location is great and you can walk to Station Square and PNC Park and nearly everything downtown, but the rooms are tired and in need of updating. If you stay at this hotel then stay for the location only unless they've renovated the rooms. Staff was nice and helpful and valet parking was $30 per day FYI.

Next time we'd probably stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites which is a newer property plus puts you nearer to the strip district (cool eats and street shopping) yet still walk-able to nearly everywhere else.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor if you can...it's above the gym and conference rooms in some areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Fred, We appreciate that you chose to stay with us for the 4th of July holiday. We are sorry to hear you would prefer a different location on your next visit. All of our team would welcome the opportunity to serve you again, should you reconsider and stay with us for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, Maryland, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

great room with great view of river, close to PNC Park, and fireworks view. Second year we did this, will do it again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank farmer_dillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are delighted to hear you returned this year, and especially glad to know we will see you again! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing