We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upon arrival it took a long time before the parking valet...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 14 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank 250bruceh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,471 - 2,477 of 4,417 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Valet service was parking cars for the pirates game not hotel patrons and by check in time there is nowhere for guests to park. you have to walk a half mile down the road to a public parking garage and carry your bags to the hotel. when i asked if there is anywhere to park they said sorry nothing we can do. there was a large red stain on the floor in the guest room the wallpaper was pealing and moldy in the bathroom, the desk in the room had a large chunk of the leg missing from it. the alarm clock volume control button was broken off. All in all it was a very poor experience. the hotel is walking distance to both pnc park and heinz field so if you need a place to park for the game i guess it would be a good place but i do not recommend paying for a room

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Joseph, While we very much appreciate that you chose our property for your recent visit. However, your comments are very concerning to us. We regret that your experience and especially your guestroom did not meet your expectations. We are sure that if a member of our management staff had been made aware when you arrived, we would have been able to make a difference in the impression you left with. We hope you might reconsider a future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Very close to all major attractions such as PNC Park and Heinz Field. Rooms have quite a bit of wear and tear. We got a cheap voucher off of TravelZoo so this is why we stayed there...they have ice cold water in the lobby and all the employees are very friendly. Only downside was having to wait 15 mins to catch an elevator one night on a bucs gamenight.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank TBaytrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are glad to know you took advantage of the TravelZoo internet offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do hope you will have an occasion to return to our fine city, when it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for a night with the family after a Pirates game. First, the location - The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk (10-15 minutes) from the stadium and in a location that I felt safe walking to and from after the game.

The check in procedure could only be described as silly. I pulled up to park, expecting valet, however the valet parking was full. We ended up parking around the corner, which wasn't bad in nice weather, but would be a pain in the rain or snow. After parking, we arrived at checkin, with a 10-15 person deep line, and 3 people checking in. The check-in process, including waiting in line, was about a half hour. I was surprised at this, and it was certainly an inconvenience.

With our family, we ended up in a junior suite. The beds were comfortable; the view decent. The entry door was broken (probably a 50 pound door that wouldn't close unless I lifted it. Would not expect this kind of a mechanical problem for this class of hotel). The sofa-bed had a tear in it. We called for linens for the sofa bed (I would have expected the sofa bed to be pre-made or to at least have a full set of linens available without having to call for them). They did not come at the first call, but after a second call, arrived within 10 minutes. The room was reasonably clean and had character. The location was terrific, however can only give three stars and would expect better given the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Michael, We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us for a recent Pirates game. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the time it took to check in. We can assure you we appreciate your feedback and are taking it to heart. We are addressing your specific concerns immediately with all involved. Should your plans bring you back to our fine city, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed Aug 9th-10th check-in was horrible no valet parking left husband dropped me and my 3 kids off with all the luggage, while he had to go park 2 blocks down. I then had to get all luggage and kids inside to find a line 10 people deep waiting to check in only 2 workers working. Finally get in King Jr Suite( city view only) black mold in shower, busted drawers on night stand and the air condition was not working right in room and in halls. Don't swim in pool skin and hair floating around and way too much Chlorine!!On a good note room service was great food was awesome!!! 20% fee for it is too much though!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Erica, We appreciate that you and your family chose the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh for your recent stay. Your comments are concerning to us and we will definitely address all items immediately. We welcome the opportunity to improve on our guests' experiences and thank you for taking the time to share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed for three nights in late July to attend a family gathering. I did not choose this hotel.

The good: the room was clean and had a nice view. Housekeeping did a great job each day. In spite of lots of events and guests, the room was quiet.

The not-so-good: the valet parking was perpetually frustrating. Twice I called down for my car 15 minutes prior to departure, only to go down, wait, and have to check in the office only to find out no one had even left to fetch it. Very frustrating. The room was small for two adults and a toddler, I can't fathom how it would have been with four adults.

The terrible: the employee in the gift shop was abominably nasty. One member of my family walked in to buy some juice and the employee looked at her and walked into the back. We had to call to her to get her emerge to ring us up. On a different day, the same employee refused to break a ten dollar bill for change - and rather than explaining it nicely simply scowled and snarled. I left the store and burst into tears - I have not been treated that rudely over something so inconsequential in a very long time.

On the whole, the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh reports itself to be a luxurious destination and is anything but. I would not stay here again, and certainly not for the cost. It's distressing when you pay for luxury and end up wishing you were at a Hampton Inn or Courtyard.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FriendOfHamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We appreciate that you stayed with us during your family gathering. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We can assure you we will address the gift shop service with their management immediately. This is not the lasting impression we wish you to have. If you have plans to travel to Pittsburgh again, we do hope you might reconsider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
4  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £123 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing