We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly....Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The check service is friendly and efficient. The valet parking seems a little expensive ($30.00/night) but I don't do city overnights often, so maybe this is par for the course.

Lobby and initial appearance is nice. The room was cozy but not as clean as I would have expected, especially the bathroom. Hair and toilet stains readily visible...yuck! I stayed for a football game at Heinz Field. This hotel is a great location for that if you like to walk a little. Nice .8 mile walk across the bridge with access to a couple nice restaurants (Tilted Kilt and Jerome Bettis' restaurant - both decent stops).

Beds are really soft....which is good if you like soft beds. Woke up with a sore back and neck. AC unit wasn't as effective as I'd like. Like to sleep in cool room, it struggled to keep it at 68. Looks like they may have repaired the thermostat recently as the wall paper around it appeared to be cut and replaced and was partially hanging off the wall. Also, not a quiet place.

Would I stay here again? For a game, probably, due to convenience. For as nice as the place appears when you first walk in, I think they could do better in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skalten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham brand while attending Heinz Field. We are grateful for your feedback and will have our engineers double check the thermostat units in the guest rooms and the wall paper around them. We look forward to welcoming you back, should you have plans to attend another game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,591 - 2,597 of 4,547 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

For the price I expected better quality in the room - I've stayed in better Holiday Inns. It wasn't terrible, It was clean and well-appointed, but not as good as I expected. However, the bathroom was the worst design I've ever seen - don't expect privacy if you're going with a group! It had sliding doors with frosted panes, which, when closed, still had a gap. The shower had a glass pane over half the opening and no door over the other half (so again no privacy) - meaning you had to get into the shower and under the water to turn it on. Water from the shower splashed on the floor, and there was no fan. The tv in the room was about the size of my computer monitor, and for some reason was set to analog? We didn't even bother watching it. Fixtures, like door handles, were poorly attached, wallpaper was peeling. I will say that the bed was very comfortable though. Also, beware, parking is valet and $30 a night, added to your bill. They claim the garages nearby are all $20 a night, so we opted to go for convenience, but I guess we are not used to the cost of city living! We stayed here for a wedding in town, and the whole family had similar comments. Good location, but just be aware of what you're getting (especially if privacy is a concern in the bathroom)!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Karin, We enjoyed having you stay with us recently. Unfortunately, we have no control over the rates that the local garages charge for either valet or self parking. We will share your concern about the bathroom design when we are making plans for our next rooms renovation. In the meantime, if your travels include a return visit to Pittsburgh, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Buffalo Bills where in town they got the VIP treatment and all most all the elevators were reserved just for them. All other guests in the hotel had to wait upwards of 10 minutes just to catch an elevator. I understand wanting to make the Buffalo Bills happy I don't understand choosing to disappoint everyone else

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Scott, We appreciate that you chose to stay with us recently, and are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with waiting for the elevator. We can assure you we will look into this on future occasions so we can best accommodate all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Though we booked through an online discount site the hotel treated us with every courtesy, like giving us a room overlooking Point State Park. The view on that side is nothing short of spectacular. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful, even going out of their way to help us. The decor feels a bit dated but the facility is very well maintained. The neighborhood is busy and felt safe even when we walked after dark. We would happily go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fallser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We are glad to hear you took advantage of the internet deals. We value each and every one of our guests and truly appreciate your feedback. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, should your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed for one night at the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown. The bedroom was very clean, but the bathroom shower and wallpaper needed some cleaning and repair. The staff seemed overwhelmed from the front desk, to maid service, to the valet service for cars. There were many events going on, but the valet staff seemed unable to keep up with the guest requests for their cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a scenic view, not of just buildings. A/C seemed to have 2 settings: warm and freezing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to share your comments. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again, should your travel plans bring you back our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very disappointing. I guess they just changed brands; it may have been a Hilton at one point? Or a Crowne? Not sure. In any case, the rooms are tiny, and our group did not get the junior suites as promised. You need a crow-bar to get in and out of the bathroom the way the door is set up. Almost no space to hang clothes, and no drawers. No in-room safe. One of my fellow travelers found a used condom in her room in the trash. The rooms just seemed dirty. The staff couldn't have cared, and was next to useless when trying to arrange for shuttle services. The first morning they told me the shuttle didn't start until noon; it pulled up five minutes later. The next day we called for a pickup at 4pm, and they told me the shuttle was already done for the day. Ridiculous.The restaurant is way overpriced, and the bar/lounge is dark and seedy. The only thing this place has going for it is location. The entire staff needs to be fired. We checked out two days into a two week stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. But if you do, get a river view room, although I'm sure the front desk will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmsmith314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We appreciated having you stay with us recently, and regret your experience was less than satisfactory. We can assure you that we value your feedback and are taking it to heart. We are addressing your specific concerns with all involved with focus on revisiting our service standards. Should your travels include a return visit to Pittsburgh, we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Several issues with valet parking and front guest services! You pay for either self or valet...not an issue. Hotel overcharged me for parking...i stayed 2 nights and the charged me for 3! Reservation was 08/7 to 8/ 8, still waiting to hear from them. Valet was very disorganized upon check in and check out. You pay $30.00 per night, service should not be this poor. No specified spot to pick up or leave your car. They are all over the place in the valet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank domsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham brand recently. We are very sorry for any misunderstanding with your valet service and hope you would contact us directly to help resolve this. We value your patronage and would hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £124 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing