We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Typical, Mediocre and Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Typical, Mediocre and Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I wanted to give this hotel only (three stars) "Okay" review because there was nothing special about it. However; I gave it a "Very Good" because of its location. The hotel is located in the Central Business and Cultural District and the entrance of the hotel faced the Point State Park (though our room did not face the park, I am sure the view was amazing). Though, the hotel would be considered grand, the experience and decor were mediocre.

On the positive, I slept like a baby in our comfortable room because the mattress, bedding and cool temperature were perfect. I did enjoy the wooden framed pocket doors to the bathroom. The pocket doors are a must-have because the bathroom was small/cozy but the wood frame made it feel rich and luxurious.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Point State Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reidie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us recently. It is especially nice to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable guestroom! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Should your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, it would be our pleasure to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    1,211
    1,097
    603
    315
See reviews for
827
842
128
1,680
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I just came back from a two night stay at the hotel. I went with 30 gymnasts and their families. Each one of our rooms were above the 14th floor with the most amazing view of the rivers and the stadiums. We had read and done our planning, so we were ready with parking in another parking garage, which is right next to the hotel, for less than a third of the price. We were also pleasantly surprised that our room was ready early!! I would not say the front desk staff was friendly, but did their job. After reading many reviews on trip advisor, I was ready for a long wait to check in, but our wait was not long at all. The rooms were small because it is an old hotel, but not as small as in NYC. There was complimentary water in our rooms, and complimentary fruit water in the lobby.
The fitness center has everything you could imagine you need: a complete set of free weights, weight machines, bosu ball, medicine balls and many cardio pieces. The pool is small and very loud in the pool area, but perfect for a swim.
The location is perfect. We walked each day to the subway for free travel around the city, as well as walked to very nearby Market Square for lunch. The hotel is located next to a beautiful state park that we thoroughly enjoyed and next to the beautiful water front.
We had friends that stayed near the Console center and their views, and nearby attractions were nothing compared to our hotel.
I am very happy with the hotel and would recommend to others if you are above the 14th floor, facing the water!!

Room Tip: Above the 14th floor facing the water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trmaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, here at the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh, and appreciate your candid feedback. Should your travels bring you back our way, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed overnight for a wedding held at the hotel and I have to admit that a few guests that I talked to were disappointed. The common rooms are really nice. The wedding reception/ballroom was terribly hot. You are going to have to crank that AC down early in the day to accomodate a crowd. The rooms were okay but surprisingly small. I had requested a shower chair and got a handicap accessible room which was a little larger than most. There was no shower chair and the shower was slippery. A word to the wise for the future this could be dangerous. The bride had arranged for "goody" bags delivered to overnight guest's rooms. We did not receive one and I asked the housekeeping lady and she said she would call the desk. Then a man was delivering and I told him our room number and he said he would let the desk know. We never did receive one. Our waitress "Sue" at breakfast was wonderful. All in all it was okay but disappointing for a Wyndam Grand.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Calleu, We enjoyed playing a part in this special occasion and value your feedback. We can assure you we will address your specific concerns with our management team, so that we may focus on the appropriate action. If you have an occasion to return to the downtown area, we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Was here for a large professional conference. The corner rooms have great views and are modern and nice (wish it had a tub instead of a shower stall). the staff are friendly but the conference space was dark. There was no wifi and no cell service in the conference areas (not even near the windows...and it wasn't just my service provider). There's no where nearby to get a cup of coffee or snack without going for a 3-4 block walk. the restaurant and lounge were small and the gift shop charged $2.25 for a bottle of soda. They did have a great shuttle service. Walking to the parks was great. It would be a good place for families.

Room Tip: ask for an upper corner room facing the city or the river or at least one facing the fountain/park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly_J_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay. We regret the conference areas did not meet your expectations, and we will share this with all involved. We do welcome the opportunity to improve on our guests' experiences. If your travel plans bring you back our way, it would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just came back from a wonderful conference celebrated a the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown. After a long trip I was very tired and really needed some rest. Registration went smoothly, but when I arrived to my room I was a bit upset; a little issue with air conditioning which Matt promptly solved and a bigger one with space. The following afternoon I contacted Jason and expressed my concern and he quickly offered a solution to my problem. I was changed to a new room which I absolutely loved and felt comfortable coming back to after a long day of presentations.Sharon from housekeeping was just great, service at the bar and gift shop also. Employees like Jason ( Director of Guest Services) are an asset to your hotel and I recommend him to any traveler who encounters any issue. ( he will solve it) Great location and friendly staff. And free wi fi !!

Room Tip: Check room measurements, some standard rooms are smaller than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busylady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We enjoyed hosting your recent conference and are glad to know you had a pleasant stay. It is especially nice to receive your kind comments relative to the assistance our staff provides, and we will certainly pass along your compliments to those specifically mentioned. If your plans bring you back to Pittsburgh, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing