We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A horrible experience”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Upon entering our room, we were greeted with the smell of mildew and stale cigarettes. The sink was dirty, the shampoo had been used,and there was a previous visitors leftovers in the fridge. Housekeeping was told the next morning since we checked in late and we came back to a dirty room still. When we called the front desk we were apologized to and brought fresh towels and sheets. We made our own bed! This was a horrible experience and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbrown30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    112
    59
    34
    19
See reviews for
84
90
53
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

July 26, 2013
We stayed at this particular Red Roof because the Red Roof we had booked was experiencing a black out and this one was the nearest to it (but was really out of our way). The Pros: It had been updated in its furnishings and was next to clean. We were able to find breakfast fairly easily in the area. The Cons: The A/C had been left on, so the room was freezing and the heat did not work.There was no iron/board barely any bar soap, towels for 2 when the room holds 4, one pocket sized pack of tissues and one very small bottle of shampoo, pillows for an 'infant' and the room was really small (for me that makes it uncomfortable) and to top it off, not even coffee or tea in the room and the cherry was not even a continental breakfast. I don't get it with this chain, don't they check behind the cleaning staff? This is a smoke free facility but they have one outside ashtray in a area for over fifty rooms, the inn has well over 150 rooms in total. Unless I really had no other choice, I wouldn't stay here again (but I am a bit of a tuff customer). The cost for twin full sized beds for a night was a little under $100.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westchester NY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angola
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was our second stay at this Red Roof Inn. Even though there is no free breakfast, pool, hot tub etc. which makes it a little pricey for what you get, it is a great location and very clean. It is within 1 mile of 12 major chain restaurants and lots of shopping. Downtown Pittsburgh is a easy trip of about 15 minutes. From the outside, it looks to be a very old, dated Inn and the rooms are smallish and oddly narrow. Inside, is a different story. Nice flatscreen, easy wi-fi, clean laminate flooring, and comfy bed. There is a good size work area, with a big desk, good lighting, and lots of outlets for multiple electronics. Bathroom is quite small, so having the vessel sink and mirror outside the bath area helps. Our superior king also had a microwave and a large refrigerator with a freezer. Great for refreezing our cooler packs, and having ice cream late at night. I really LOVE being able to park right outside your door. So easy to load and unload, repack the car, clean out the car etc. especially when on a road trip with multiple stops and hotels. Gives you space to regroup. I do wish they would repaint the rooms in a brighter color. The cranberry makes the room very dark and dreary. My favorite thing about the Inn are the staff. They are all very friendly and nice people, who go out of there way to help ensure you have a good stay.

Room Tip: First floor room for easy access to your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angolalinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Price wise this place was much more affordable then other bigger hotels closer to Pittsburgh. The hotel is located about a 15-20 minute drive from the city but was feasible without too many issues with traffic. There is a restaurant almost on the same lot as the Red Roof and there are a few other small joints in the area.

The room was renovated, it was of a decent size and with decent equipment. The bed (KING) was comfortable, the desk was a nice thing to have and the washroom was in good shape. The floors were a nice touch, I enjoy not having to walk around on dirty 30 year old carpets. I’d say overall room condition was better than what I was expecting from a Red Roof. Our room was on the second floor, as stated in previous reviews there are no elevators here so for those of you whom this could cause a problem you should request a 1st floor room ahead of time. The room was clean however there was a little area under the desk that had been forgotten but it wasn't enough to justify a complaint with the front desk. The internet worked well.

The only issues we had was a really slow check in and check out. There must have been 3-4 other guests wanting to check in at the same time and only one person to take care of everyone. There were other staff members present however they stayed behind in the employee room taking their break and eating pizza. We forgot to remove the Safe charges upon check-out, remember to do it!

The parking lot has space all around the buildings and we always felt safe. I’d return if we were in the area. It's a great No-Frills basic place to spend the night for a little cost.

Note: This hotel does not offer a pen and pad of paper in the rooms like most bigger chains so be prepared if you need to take notes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FieroAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here July 18 for the jimmy Buffett concert up the road. For what we needed it was perfect. We got a cheap room, that was still nice for the price. We weren't looking for a lot of frills, since we were Mabey in the room for a total of 8-9 hrs, just to sleep and shower. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom was clean, we really liked the laminate flooring instead of the carpet. Staff was very helpfull, even giving us a tip on traffic getting to the concert that saved us some time. Again it's not the Hilton, but great for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaican_Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north olmsted
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was a guest at the Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport location from June 8 until June 12. As always it was a wonderful experience. My room was lovely, clean and very well maintained. The appearance was just as attractive as it was when the property was completely redecorated more than a year ago.

Also, as is always the case, the members of the staff were gracious, welcoming and accommodating. They go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and appreciated. On this occasion I particularly want to commend Carolyn. Carolyn always exhibits marvelous interpersonal communication skills and interacts beautifully with everyone. She has a sparkling personality and obviously enjoys being helpful to others. Whenever you ask Carolyn how she is doing, her typical response is, "I've never had a bad day in my life."

Surely, Carolyn, like all of us, has had an occasional bad day, but that cheerful response certainly puts a smile on the face of everyone who asks her. Carolyn's demeanor is so typical of that displayed by her fellow employees at the Pittsburgh South property. It is their approach to customer service that is the primary reason for my always choosing to stay at that location whenever I am in Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit, michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I haven't stayed at a Red Rood since I was a teenager (long long ago). Stayed here in recently. We had a Superior King room and thought it was quite large. Loved the updated business area. My husband used it for his work that he needed to do. Room was clean. Spacious bathroom countertop too.

Now granted, too, it isn't your 5 star top of the line hotel resort, however, Red Roof isn't supposed to be. If you want the 5 star amenities, well don't stay here. If you want clean rooms, comfortable beds and a place to sleep for the night, give this a try.

It was a tad bit further off of the expressway than we anticipated, but close to the shopping mall.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#64 of 70 in Pittsburgh
564 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#55 of 70 in Pittsburgh
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-1004
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing