We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No toilet paper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No toilet paper”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

No TP or toiletries in our room. Super nice front desk staff. When we tried to order a movie we had to call the front desk, which insisted we return for a $50 deposit on our credit card! Never, ever had that happen before. Won't be staying at one of these again.

Room Tip: Stay in building down from main/front desk building. Quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HChasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    114
    59
    35
    19
See reviews for
85
91
53
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to open the door and see hardwood floors. They were very clean. Beds were comfortable. Hotel is in a great location. Staff were friendly. No outside noise made for a pleasant sleeping experience. Would stay here in a HEARTBEAT!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schreiberswerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the front desk was friendly, and the general area was decent (with a mall nearby, a restaurant next door, and fast food places conveniently close). The parking lot feels a little intimidating at night (because the trees and bushes isolate the motel's two buildings), but I never felt unsafe. Nothing special, but I found it a good call for a budget stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I was quite surprised that our room was just like the picture. It was clean and comfortable. There was a cigarette burn on the bed spread, but I guess that occurred poor to their joke free policy. The outside of the place was a little scary, however once inside the room I was quite happy. The only down fall was that the WIFI did not work . Also close to a variety of dining places.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Upon entering our room, we were greeted with the smell of mildew and stale cigarettes. The sink was dirty, the shampoo had been used,and there was a previous visitors leftovers in the fridge. Housekeeping was told the next morning since we checked in late and we came back to a dirty room still. When we called the front desk we were apologized to and brought fresh towels and sheets. We made our own bed! This was a horrible experience and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbrown30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

July 26, 2013
We stayed at this particular Red Roof because the Red Roof we had booked was experiencing a black out and this one was the nearest to it (but was really out of our way). The Pros: It had been updated in its furnishings and was next to clean. We were able to find breakfast fairly easily in the area. The Cons: The A/C had been left on, so the room was freezing and the heat did not work.There was no iron/board barely any bar soap, towels for 2 when the room holds 4, one pocket sized pack of tissues and one very small bottle of shampoo, pillows for an 'infant' and the room was really small (for me that makes it uncomfortable) and to top it off, not even coffee or tea in the room and the cherry was not even a continental breakfast. I don't get it with this chain, don't they check behind the cleaning staff? This is a smoke free facility but they have one outside ashtray in a area for over fifty rooms, the inn has well over 150 rooms in total. Unless I really had no other choice, I wouldn't stay here again (but I am a bit of a tuff customer). The cost for twin full sized beds for a night was a little under $100.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westchester NY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angola
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was our second stay at this Red Roof Inn. Even though there is no free breakfast, pool, hot tub etc. which makes it a little pricey for what you get, it is a great location and very clean. It is within 1 mile of 12 major chain restaurants and lots of shopping. Downtown Pittsburgh is a easy trip of about 15 minutes. From the outside, it looks to be a very old, dated Inn and the rooms are smallish and oddly narrow. Inside, is a different story. Nice flatscreen, easy wi-fi, clean laminate flooring, and comfy bed. There is a good size work area, with a big desk, good lighting, and lots of outlets for multiple electronics. Bathroom is quite small, so having the vessel sink and mirror outside the bath area helps. Our superior king also had a microwave and a large refrigerator with a freezer. Great for refreezing our cooler packs, and having ice cream late at night. I really LOVE being able to park right outside your door. So easy to load and unload, repack the car, clean out the car etc. especially when on a road trip with multiple stops and hotels. Gives you space to regroup. I do wish they would repaint the rooms in a brighter color. The cranberry makes the room very dark and dreary. My favorite thing about the Inn are the staff. They are all very friendly and nice people, who go out of there way to help ensure you have a good stay.

Room Tip: First floor room for easy access to your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angolalinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#63 of 71 in Pittsburgh
567 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#53 of 71 in Pittsburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-1004
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing