We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great place for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Went to Pittsburgh for a 1 day trip and didn't want to spend too much on a hotel. Found this little gem and decided to give it a go since the price range was reasonable. The staff was friendly and the room was clean -- we got the deluxe king room and best part they had an microwave! There's also a huge mall with plenty of restaurant choices behind the hotel so you don't have to travel far. Overall I would definitely come stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnpitt, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you very much for posting your positive review. Your comments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of your superior king are very much appreciated. I'll will surely share this with my team. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    114
    59
    35
    19
See reviews for
85
91
53
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

the hotel is very nice I stay often, the beds are great and the staff is very friendly. the only thing I found is that the taxes and the price at this hotel is a bit high. I guess since they are near the airport.



Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ronald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnpitt, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad you like our bedding package. We recently had all new bedding installed. also thanks for mentioning my friendly staff. I'm very proud of my team and will certainly share this with. Thanks for staying with us and forward to seeing you on a future visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hollow walls, early morning vacuuming, and a gang fight over $20 dollars for drugs combined to very little sleep. You can clearly hear whats going on in the rooms next to you and below you. I could hear someone fart and urinate. The gang fight started at 4:30 am and after we called the front desk it took them over an hour to tell them to get out. We were scared a bullet was going to come through our wall!
The rooms were not the cleanest and the front staff was not the most helpful. I asked for directions and I was told they were not familiar with Pittsburgh. I would pay a little more next time and stay in the city. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnpitt, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review . It is with my sincere apologies your experience resulted with police involvment. We do not tolerate this from ruly guests. These incidents are very rare but somtimes happen. Again apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, VA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

With a small baby things can get a little crazy. As I checked out I had thought my wife had gotten some ice to keep my baby's milk cold for our continued trip as you need a key to get to the ice machine. So after realizing this, I thought surely they would let my wife get some ice as we just checked out. No dice. We were told to "find the housekeeper and ask her." I couldn't quite believe my ears. How insensitive can people be these days.

The rooms were fine, not the cleanest I've seen, but fair for one night stay. Keep in mind they automatically add a fee for the safe in your room. Make sure you tell them if you did not use the safe so you can get your money credited back to you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sgtmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRoofInnpitt, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review.My sincere apologies for how your simple request for access the the vending room was handled.Housekeeping should of had nothing to do with your request for ice. I am a bit surprised that you experienced a non-hospitality event such as that beacause our team usally hear it expressed on the positive side. I would hope you would consider us on a future venture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I needed a clean budget room for a last minute short stay in Pittsburgh convenient to downtown and the airport. This location, with the newly remodeled rooms, fit the bill. The one staff person I met was friendly and helpful. The location offers no amenities (breakfast, pool, etc.), but provides a solid bed, good television, clean room, and decent linens. The location is ideal for quick on/ off freeway access, but it is in a busy commercial location. Don't expect to to hear the birds singing in the trees in the morning. The advance purchase, no refund, option can save you $10-$15. However, Red Roof has a silly $1.50 "room safe" charge which you have ask for back in a refund at check out, however.

Room Tip: Second story rooms have interior hallway access. First floor rooms have outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were a little unsure since we usually Hotwire a better "grade" of hotel, but with prices high in Pittsburgh we "setttled" for a two star hotel. The room was very nice--the hotel had touted beforehand about remodeled rooms and the room was nice with hardwood floors and most importantly very clean. I'm a little obsessive compulsive, so I take a good look and nothing to worry about there. One reviewer mentioned something about area being sketchy, but I'm not sure what that was about--the entire area is hotels, restaurants, a mall, gas stations, etc. Very good restaurant next door. The front desk was a little slow considering we had gone through hotwire and i was the only person being waited on. I was a little concerned about a recent reviewer who came back one night and said there was no parking (we would be coming back late from a ballgame) and when I asked the front desk I received two blank looks. For those concerned as well, we had plenty of spaces to choose from.

The only thing to remember is this is a no frills hotel. My wife commented that she was used to a hair dryer in the bathroom, so she didn't bring one and Red Roof didn't supply that, but otherwise for under $70 on a Saturday night, this hotel fit the bill. Excellent locations and also very close access to 376 for those going to Airport or back to Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmhtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have stayed for three days in this red roof inn. If you do not pay too much (>85$), it is a good stay. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. It is easy and fast to go to Pittsburgh. There is a large mall behind the inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#63 of 71 in Pittsburgh
567 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#53 of 71 in Pittsburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-1004
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing