We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice remodeled look, overall nice place but a little pricey for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice remodeled look, overall nice place but a little pricey for what you get”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at this location for one night to break up an extremely long drive. Chose the Red Roof over several other locations nearby due to it having the higher rating, this meant a slightly higher cost but figured that since the Red Roof's were going through a major nationwide upgrade that it would be reflected in the room's quality. After we were checked in we drove over to our room and tried to get in, however, our keys wouldn't work. So I ran back to the front desk, the clerk re encoded our keys, went back and we were able to get in that time. The new room look is nice, especially compared to the old Red Roof Inns and some of the other low cost motels. The appearance pretty much matched the pictures we had seen online with the exception of lighting. The pictures made it look as if the rooms were brightly lit (even a little card placed inside the room said, brightly lit work area). My guess is that they were going for energy savings and put lower wattage bulbs in everything because even with all of the lights turned on it still seemed very dark in the room. Even one of the lights over the bed had a burned out bulb in it. For the most part the room was very clean, the only dirth/filth I saw was around the edges of the room close to the walls and corners (understandable, its hard to get a vacuum into those without using some sort of attachment). The bed was very comfortable, more so than a more expensive hotel we had stayed at earlier that week and the linens were very soft. My only main complaints is that the shower and toilet are together in a room while the sink is in the main section, this is fine except the toilet and shower leave just enough room to turn around in their and the bathroom door has no lock. I can imagine sitting on the toilet and having someone swing that door open ouch. The other complaint would have to be the TV selection there were only a small handful of channels (many of which had nothing on them). So the long and the short of it is that, I love the new design and the room was mostly clean and comfortable, there were a few minor complaints. The room seemed a little pricey for what you got, if there had been more channels and a little more attention paid to cleaning around the edges I would be more inclined to stay again. However, I would still recommend it to others as for some these gripes may not be that big.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    110
    59
    34
    19
See reviews for
84
88
53
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Very happy with Red Roof Inn. It is a motel, in that each door faces the outside. Very minimalist, clean, bare-bones but nice. The bed is very comfortable!

No iron, no hair dryer, but can be checked out at the front desk. Don't forget to get $1.50 optional fee for the safe that is automatically assessed to the bill. Next to a Denny's for a quick, if not healthy, breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyd067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I have stayed at this Red Roof a few times, visiting our children in college in Pittsburgh, most recently, this past Saturday night. We always get the room with the king-sized bed, refrigerator and microwave. I reserve online at their website. This time, I noticed the Senior discount (50+) was greater than the AAA discount, so we used that. The motel has free Wi-fi and this room has a nice workspace table and lamp. Never had a problem getting online. The refrigerator worked fine. (Didn't use the microwave.) The bed was comfortable. The towels were good quality. I have long, thick hair, so I usually have to ask for another set of towels. That doesn't bother me. And I remembered to ask for the towels when we checked in, so I didn't have to go to the office later. No, I don't expect the towels to be delivered to me. This is a motel, not a hotel.
All in all, a good experience. The ONLY bad part of the whole trip was that I-376 had lanes closed for construction between the motel and downtown Pittsburgh, we caught in bad traffic twice, but that is NOT the Red Roof Inn's fault!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlrm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We had to come to town on short notice for a funeral. The budget was tight so we needed an affordable place. Overall, our experience was very good - better than expected. The room was small but it was very clean and well maintained. Beds were comfortable but could use firmer pillows. Bathroom was tiny but again it was very clean and well maintained. No hairdryers in the room but were available to borrow from the front desk. While the inn was located on a very busy road it was set back far enough from the highway so that it was very quiet in our room. Denny's right next door as well as McDonalds in easy walking distance made meals very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

On the road from Niagara, NY to Washington DC it was a good place to stay the night. Only problems we had was a noisy air con machine as windows were sealed so no fresh air could be had. And we were unable to pull in coming from the west as there was 4 lanes to get over which was impossible. What was good was that Denny's next door gave us a 20% discount on breakfast as we were Red Roof customers. (Grandma was nice at Denny's)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajacks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEORGETOWN
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Clean rooms, had to change our original room as the people in the room beside us were loud and might as well been in our room with us. Front desk clerk was very helpful and switched our room for us.
Bed was comfortable and we liked the package of Kleenex that is included with the room........nice touch.
Other than that you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamsandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Stayed at Red Roof Inn for parents weekend at Pitt. It was 20 minutes from University and close to downtown. Room was big and new looking, refrigerator and decent free breakfast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rts1234rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#63 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#56 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-1004
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing