We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Major WOW factor!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hempstead, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Major WOW factor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed in the Omni William Penn for four days while attending a conference. It was not the highest rated on Trip Advisor, but it was the location of the conference child care, so I picked it solely for that reason. And boy, am I happy that we stayed in this glorious historic hotel!

It was a bit tough for us to enter with our luggage -- we had to walk past the front revolving doors and around the corner to access the hotel via a ramp that we could drag our bags up. Once inside, we were very impressed. The lobby is very grand, with pressed itn ceiling, chandeliers and arches. There are photos of the lobby from the 30's on the wall near the Palm Court restaurant that are worth a look.

Our room was spacious and well appointed. Because of the shape and configuration of the hotel, many of the rooms face other rooms. Ours did, but I did not mind because it was after dark when we returned to our room each evening. Of course, we had to be sure that the curtains were closed firmly before undressing for bed! The bathroom was the the big negative for us: depressingly dim. There were two sconces with two miserably dim bulbs in them that could not have given off more than about a candle's worth of light.

The exercise room was a joy to work out in -- not only was it well appointed and the equipment top notch, but the room itself was gorgeous -- wood panelled with a fire place. The room is accessed from a door off the lobby and through a narrow staircase making me think it was orginally a private apartment. I asked the consierge about the history of the room, and he did not know -- but, he offered to take us up to the ballrooms on the 17th floor and give us a tour. We accepted happily! The ballrooms were magnificent! There is a large ballroom (where, I think, Bob Hope proposed to his wife) that had a beautiful second floor gold balcony and we were able to walk around. He also explained to us that the upper floors, no linger used for accommodation, used to be a girls dormitory and is the source of some paranormal rumors. He also told us that the William Penn was the first hotel in Pittsburgh to offer ensuite bathrooms. What history!

As for the meals.... We had two meals in the Palm Court. The first night we were served well over an hour after we ordered and my child fell asleep at the table. I had to have it packed up to take to the room. We gave it another try one other evening, which much better results. The appetizers were delicious and the meal served promptly. I would eat here again.

We really enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately, we had no time during the conference to tour the city, but we plan to return and when we do, we will stay at the Omni William Penn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thkosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,419
    809
    254
    92
    38
See reviews for
678
994
148
1,335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Overall I would say this is a very nice hotel. It's been nicely renovated, but kept it's character. The room we had was very large and even had a bath and a 1/2 which is very unusual. It was very comfortable and nicely decorated. There was no view from the window, we faced a wall, but that's the luck of the draw. The one thing I would say is eat elsewhere. The Tap room is not horrible, but be careful what you order, stick with the most basic things. I got a chicken sandwich that wasn't bad at all, but we had a lunch there that was awful. We also ordered room service one night because my husband wasn't feeling well and it was terrible. It wasn't cheap, but it was the type of food you would get in a diner. Other than the food, I think it's a nice hotel and I would recommend it as a comfortable centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michele030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your review, and your kind comments regarding your room. We are, however, disappointed that you did not enjoy our offerings in the Tap Room or In-Room Dining. We are in the final stages of preparing a new menu for these outlets. We hope you will stay with us again when you return to Pittsburgh and try our new offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Omni William Penn is such a beauty, with its grand lobby and nicely appointed rooms. Service is prompt, the downtown location is great, the low-cost underground parking across the street is appreciated and there are other nice touches, such as room service breakfast being left outside your room with just a quiet knock. And of course, you gotta love a hotel with those white robes!

But the Number One rule of a good hotel is to get a good night's sleep and the Omni William Penn had trouble delivering that for us. Because it's so beautifully old, the hotel has quite sturdy doors on each room -- doors that cannot be closed without a big slam, even if you try, it seems. With periodic bang, bang, bang up and down the hallway, it took a long time to fall asleep and then the doors caused was an early wake up. I'm not sure of the solution but isn't there some sort of noise reducing devices for doors?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSJ_45066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you had a less than restful night sleep due to the door closings in neighboring guest rooms. We will investigate and see what can be done to minimize the noise. We appreciate you letting us know, and hope you will stay with us again when you return to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for 4 days 3 nights in early May for a conference at the hotel. The hotel is beautiful, it looks like something out of a movie from the early 20's. The rooms are small spaces compared to modern hotels but don't let that fool you the rooms are modern, with large LCD TV's wireless internet available and the most convenient location of outlet locations I have ever seen. each night stand and the desk in the room had at least 2 outlets each in the side so you can easily plug in you phone to charge or your tablet device. The night stands have built it motion sensitive night lights near the floor. Staff was friendly housekeeping keeping staff was excellent and attentive food from room service and the lunch served by the hotel staff at the conference was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel its centrally located in downtown and close to everything including public transportation.

Room Tip: ask for corner room high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Njchris412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality during your conference in May. We are very proud of the servcie and facilities we offer. We hope you will return soon "just for fun"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Often 'historic' or 'landmark' hotels are lacking in modern features or detail, and can have a sort of worn out quality. The William Penn has none of those issues. They have somehow managed to fit an entirely modern hotel, with all the features and amenities you would expect, into a classic building with all the grandeur of an earlier time. Nicely done, Omni.

My stay was short but totally comfortable. The staff was wonderful and everything was in perfect order. The location was great for me, and the parking lot right across the street was handy and reasonably priced. Pittsburgh's downtown is almost entirely walkable so this central location works for pretty much everything.

It's not the cheapest option, but since it offers so much, the Omni William Penn is definitely a strong value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel in the heart of Pittsburgh, this hotel has been well maintained. Modern touches blend well with the old charm, and staff are all very friendly. There is a parking garage across the street if you do not require valet parking. Be sure to join the hotel's guest program before you go! We thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary orange juice and muffins delivered to our door, along with a copy of the local
paper! Excellent stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We appreciate your kind words and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be back with us again before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

we stayed with a group of friends for a wedding weekend over the holidays.

great stuff:
the property is so old in the best way- gorgeous decor, high ceilings with large spacious rooms.
great restaurant in house for breakfast in the am. cleanliness/housekeeping staff of rooms are great.
speakeasy in the basement a well kept secret and perfect for post party/wedding/work drinks.
room service was excellent

issues we had/future visitors be advised!!:
check in - we opted to pre pay for early check in b/c we were gonna be getting late and cutting it close with our scheduled stuff we had going on in pittsburgh upon arrival and they completely missed the mark on that. our keys werent there, we ended up waiting for something i had in essence, paid in advance for - incredibly frustrating and then we were late and frazzled for our night. we got no compensation and no one followed up.

parking- when we pulled up
we asked where we could park and the guys outside basically were like, "around the corner, figure it out"
any other time, we just would have taken it in our stride but it was the middle of blizzard and we were already running late. no help, nothing.

overall decent stay, and if you need to be in pittsburgh the property is beautiful.
just be advised- dont pre pay for early check in and parking is nearest to Macys through an alley way a few blocks away from the actual hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your comments. Although our service at the front door was not to our standards, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope it will not be too long before we have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing