We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittsburgh Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pittsburgh Perfect”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great location, extremely well run, great staff. Room with two double beds was extremely clean and spacious. The public parking garage directly across the street is a very good value. I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank travel_buddy0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,648
    867
    274
    102
    40
See reviews for
745
1,086
159
1,456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Girard, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We probably wouldn't have paid full price for the room we got, but since we found a great deal on priceline and loved the location, we gave it a shot. The room was basic but acceptable. The historic elements of the building were an interesting novelty you don't get with newer buildings, and the staff and service were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 583tiffanyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We love staying at the William Penn. It is a great place to spend the weekend for shopping and dining in the city. Also very accommodating for our little girl with the extras for kids, like cookies and milk in the evening. Beautiful hotel with very courteous staff and top notch amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sag Harbor, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A gracious and attentive property and staff. Some aspects of the property are looking a little down-in-the-tooth (some of the many lobby chairs), but this did not lessen the experience. Especially beautiful during our December holiday stay. Staff exhibit the classic Pittsburgh friendliness while maintaining highly professional service. The entire experience makes me proud to claim Pittsburgh as my home town! We'll be back for another holiday stay there next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed over a week and loved it. Just valet your car if you have one. If you are just doing the city, you don't need a car. Room was very large and we were treated like royalty. Not cheap, but reasonable for what you get. The lobby is amazing. Staff was mostly very helpful with a few exceptions. The women wanted to do afternoon tea and the bellman of 30 years assured them that reservations were not needed. Well luckily we were staying a while and were able to make reservations as we were turned away that day and told that reservations are a must. The desk staff was less than helpful in extending our stay. (One person) We were made to come down to the desk which was totally unnecessary. She was short and unhelpful when we were trying to spend more money with her employer. Only other thing was one evening the valet left our car across and down the street in the pouring down rain, handed me the keys and walked away. This was the only time that I saw this valet so he may have been new. All the other valets brought the car to the front, opening the doors for the ladies and providing and umbrella if needed. Generous tips were provided to these valets. These were the few negatives in a week+ stay. We will return here the next time we visit.

Room Tip: We asked for city view and a high floor. We were on the 16th floor and the view wasn't scenic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We apologize for the service shortfalls that you experienced. We appreicate the feedback and will follow-up accordingly. We are glad to know you will return and will look forward to having you back with us soon. Best wishes for a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Upon check in we asked specifically for a high floor away from elevators and ice machines, in other words A QUIET ROOM. After retiring to our room all we could hear is a grinding noise every 3 minutes. The front desk sent security to investigate. He reported no problems found. So we spent some time in the hall. The noise was coming from the staff/service elevators - right across from our room! It got on our nerves so we asked to be moved to a quieter room. Not much fun to move in the middle of the night. Granted the room was quieter (and nicer) but this ruined our evening and our stay especially since we were so specific upon check-in. To make matters worse the housekeeping staff were conversing loudly in our hallway for nearly an hour even though we had a privacy sign on our door. One expects an upscale hotel to respect their guest's peace and quiet. There is no reason for housekeeping to visit/converse/yell/in the hallways unless they are being disrespectful.

Room Tip: Face William Penn street for quiet rooms, high floor but beware of staff elevators hidden behind dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18LindaH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to offer our apologies that we did not initially place you in a quieter room. We understand that it can be frustrating to have to move rooms especially late into the night. Your comments will be shared with our front office team to make sure that all agents are familiar with the rooms that are best to be used for those seeking out the quietest areas of the hotels. We will also speak with our housekeepers and other associates that work in our corridors to remind them of the peaceful environment that we want to provide for all guests. Your feedback is valuable to us for making improvements and we hope that the future will bring us a second opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Big, charming lobby. Good beds. Large bathrooms. Up-to-date TVs. Room service. Very friendly doormen, porters, bell people, front desk. As with many old hotels, the thermostat didn't seem to do much. Very cold outside. Very stuff inside . Ate at the Tap Room. Understaffed. Underwhelmed. Wings were good. Pulled pork awful. Hamburgers awful -- overcooked, burnt, ugly.Red wine not very good. Wait times long.

I won't go back because I found the brand New Fairmont there. Wow!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay with us, and thank you for your kind words. We are disappointed, however, that you did not enjoy your dining experience in the Tap Room. We are providing your feedback to our executive chef to address with our team. Thank you for choosing the Omni William Penn and we hope you will return when you visit Pittsburgh again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing