We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Overall, the stay at the William Penn was outstanding. Very stylish, elegant historic property. Rooms are very large (although rooms with two beds are only doubles), with high quality amenities. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous and the Tap Room was a great place to grab a drink and hang out with friends.

Despite the overall great stay, I did not give the hotel 5 stars because the Speakeasy was extremely disappointing. The atmosphere they were going for is evident, but is wasn't accomplished. Many better "craft cocktail" options for the price in the Pittsburgh area.

I would stay in the Omni again while in Pittsburgh, but it would depend on the reason for travel. If you are looking for lively streets and nightlife, choose a different part of town. However, if you want a centrally located, beautifully historic space (perhaps for an event), the William Penn is your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_AGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,199)
There are newer reviews for Omni William Penn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,672 - 2,678 of 4,199 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently attend a concert at the Consul Energy Center in downtown Pittsburgh and decided to make it an entire evening of the event by staying the night, since we live about 90-minutes north. The William Penn is in the ideal location, making it easy to avoid all the traffic and headache involved with heavily attended events.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Denny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I love, love, love this hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful, and attentive, the hotel property is well cared for and beautiful. My room is consistently impecibly designed, neat and clean. I love that I can save my favorites to the membership plan, and the hotel remembers what my preferences are everytime... I never have to ask for extra pillows or towels. I even get a white noise maker and in-room workout equipment so I can get moving without having to leave my room... Did I mention that I love, love, love this hotel?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Katrina F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great, friendly staff and the lobby and event rooms are gorgeous. If you want the elegant, old school feel, this is a great spot in a great location. The only problem was that our air conditioner was loud in the night time and woke me up. I think upon reservation make this inconvenience known as something you do not want and I think you'd be fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anna B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Grand old hotel in a perfect location. Excellent place to stay if you're going to see baseball. Incredibly easy to find and get to, and right downtown. Next to some fantastic restaurants and great views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. I've stayed at other hotels in the area, and this one is much better. To start - there is a Starbucks and a Bruegger's in the lobby are of the hotel. The rooms are elegant without being stuffy. Very clean and spacious. The Omni's Select Guest program is better than other hotel chains in my experience because they actually pay attention to your requests and preferences. We actually had extra towels in the room per our Select Guest profile! The restaruants in the hotel were a little pricey, and the food we received was just OK, but I would not hesitate to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The bed was very comfortable. Not to soft, not to hard, just right. Overall nice. It is an old hotel that has been updated. Clean but not spotless, still has an oldness to it, carpets, tile, furniture, etc. Expensive to eat in hotel dining room. Had breakfast buffet, food good, but not an enormous selection, for $19.00 per. You have to pay for wi-fi in your room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We appreciate all of your comments and thank you for taking the time to share them. If you return, we invite you join our Select Guest Loyalty program at no charge. Wifi, morning beverage delivery, and a selection of inexpensive breakfast items are among the many valuable perks that our members enjoy. We hope to have you back at the Omni William Penn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £115 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing