We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference hotel. Everything was great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Although I heard some floors were not yet completely updated, everyone had a great hotel experience. The hotel was very clean, had a perfect location, and had great amenities. There was a starbucks, direct back entrance into a decent bagel shop, hotel speakeasy, and a bar/restaurant. Across the street from the train station, parking garage, easy walk to Market Square, and overlooking Mellon Square which was delightful. I had no issues, so it's difficult to rate, but everyone on the staff was extremely accommodating and very friendly. There may be places closer to the rivers with nicer views, but this is a great hotel and we walked the whole city (including Heinz field) from here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,798 - 2,804 of 4,334 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

There is nothing wrong with this hotel other than it feels old when you walk in, and the prices at some of the restaurants are fit for a robber baron. They should update the décor and make some of the restaurants a little more price friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights while the Cardinals were in town playing the Pirates. This hotel is historic and beautiful. The room was huge with 2 beds and a comfy chair and 2 very nice bath robes. The room even had a small beverage cooler (mini fridge). Everything was clean and comfortable. Housekeeping did a good job of cleaning up while we were out for the day.
I didn't get to try out any of the restaurants, but even just the lobby was big and beautiful and comfortable. I did make it to the fitness center one day and I was also impressed by it. A fully equipped facility with a nice little view of the city.
All the employees I dealt with were pleasant, but the reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of the service we got when checking in. It was my first time using my Omni Select Guest account and the lady at the front desk didn't explain any of the perks that come along with the membership. I had to come down the next morning and ask why we didn't receive our complimentary water, or our morning beverage service. It wasn't a huge deal, but it would have been nice to have it explained to us at check in.
The hotel is pretty close to just about everything. We like to walk a lot so we walked everywhere. PNC Park, Strip District, The Cultural District, Andy Warhol Museum, The South Side, The Incline, The Mattress Factory, The Casino, Market Square. If you don't like walking a whole lot, all of these places are probably just a $5 cab ride away, or the the public transportation has stops close by and is free within a certain number of blocks.
I would most definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in town and plan on seeing what Pittsburgh has to offer.

Tips:
Join the Omni rewards program before you stay, if you aren't already a member. The included perks are well worth the few minutes it takes to sign up.

The public bus will take you to and from the airport for just a few bucks. It's easy and much cheaper than the $25 per person shuttle that the hotel offers. They pick you right up outside the door of the airport and drop you off a couple blocks from the hotel. Super easy. I think the busses come every 15 mins or so.

This hotel is close to a lot of restaurants and stores. But not very many bars. It's hard to even find a place for a drink outside of the hotel after about 11pm or so.

Because of the way this hotel is built, with separate towers, you may end up with a view of a brick wall full of windows. Ask for a room on the outside edge of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Beebopabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for about 12 years now. The location is convienent but it is overpriced. The room temperatures are inconsistent and the outside noise level in the interior rooms is quite loud. I keep hoping the expereince will get better...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 415paulamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your patronage of our hotel over the years. We are saddened to read that you have not had better experiences with us and we would truly like to improve upon your recent stays. If you return, we encourage you to reach out to us directly so we can make sure that you are placed in a room that meets all of your needs. It would be our pleasure to ensure that you have a good stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent accommodations, service and amenities.This is a high end hotel so you will pay for that, however, this hotel does do all of the big and little things right. It was a comfortable and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent hotel with the fantastic Mellon Square park right out side. Friendly staff and great service, hotel room was top notch. Close to some excellent restaurants, take a walk to Market Square or try Meat and Potatoes!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Overall, the stay at the William Penn was outstanding. Very stylish, elegant historic property. Rooms are very large (although rooms with two beds are only doubles), with high quality amenities. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous and the Tap Room was a great place to grab a drink and hang out with friends.

Despite the overall great stay, I did not give the hotel 5 stars because the Speakeasy was extremely disappointing. The atmosphere they were going for is evident, but is wasn't accomplished. Many better "craft cocktail" options for the price in the Pittsburgh area.

I would stay in the Omni again while in Pittsburgh, but it would depend on the reason for travel. If you are looking for lively streets and nightlife, choose a different part of town. However, if you want a centrally located, beautifully historic space (perhaps for an event), the William Penn is your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_AGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £101 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing