We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, United States
2 reviews
“Must see”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful hotel steeped in the elegance of the past but with modern amenities. Extremely courteous and friendly staff who alway make you feel welcome. Great location centrally located. I love this place. And oh, they have the orginal Lawrence Welk bubble machine on display (for those that remember champange music)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,591
    853
    267
    99
    40
See reviews for
730
1,060
154
1,429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were on the 14th floor facing the water fountain. Nice view, spacious room. state of the art fitness center. We were there to see the Phillies play. Easy walk to Market Place where all the eateries/bars are. Easy walk to PNC Park.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be good for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 872christined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've stayed at the William Penn 3x now and the last time I booked through one of the discount booking services. Unfortunately, the room was subpar. I didn't even realize that this hotel had these kinds of rooms - I suppose they all do. The room was tiny especially compared to their other king rooms. The ice maker and vending machines on my floor were broken. Then, I shortened my stay due to a strong cigarette smoke smell coming from the bathroom which happened twice over the course of my 2 night stay. Ugh. The hotel offered to change my room but at that point I just wanted out. This stay was for my birthday and it was a huge disappointment. I love the upper floor rooms but after this, I probably won't stay here again. If you plan to stay, just make sure to get a good room (9th floor or higher)!!

Room Tip: Don't book through a discount service and request back side rooms - they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moshee7872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Omni William Penn. We do have a variety of room sizes given the age of the building and renovations over the years. This was a special visit for you and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. We value your patronage and hope you will choose to stay again when you return to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Friendly full service hotel in downtown Pittsburgh. Low turnover among staff; and they recognize you when you return. Good location for some shopping. (Macy's, Larrimors, and within a long walk/short cab ride to the Strip area. Great location for restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Needed a getaway. Went to Pittsburgh, Pa for a weekend. I stayed at the William Penn Hotel. It was beautiful, clean and the staff was more them caring. I would highly recommend this hotel for its historical setting as well as all that is mentioned above.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very comfortable stay. Great roomservice. Food was good though room service as always was a little pricy. Stay for the quality service, come back for the gorgeous celings. keep writing for the arbitrary 200 character requirement.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I spent a few nights here when I wanted to visit the National Aviary. I was quite happy overall - the hotel was very nice and the staff excellent. Two highlights are the beautiful classic lobby with its chandeliers dating back to the 20s and the Speakeasy bar. Great drinks made by people who really care about their work, I'll be back there for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing