We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, United States
1 review
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel was clean, quiet and staff was really friendly. Perfect location for my stay as I was working right across the street. Not to far of a walk to PNC Park. Lots of good quality restaurants near by and the Steel Station is just across the street. The fitness center was decent for a hotel but some of the machine are out dated and it did get busy in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,771
    891
    284
    109
    47
See reviews for
795
1,140
162
1,499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

As others have said, it's a beautiful hotel - crystal and wood work
Convenience - park your car and walk to Point State Park, cross a bridge and take the Incline and you can be in Mount Washington, within 15-20 min. Walk in another direction and you can get to The Strip, another Pittsburgh jewel. The restaurants and bars within the hotel are great.

But the best part of this old world hotel is the bar in the lobby, which was designed to "See and be seen". The weekend we were there was "The Furry Convention". Now this is people watching at it's finest. We had some drinks and watched "The Furries" come and go. They were perfectly welcomed, kind and everyone was respectful. They were happy to pose, and made the weekend so much more fun.

Lots of Philly fans were in town and there was a beautiful wedding. We could watch all this while enjoying cocktails. The time in the lobby made the experience even more fun.

As we were leaving, a Bell Hop came from somewhere and carried mine and my two sisters' suitcases out to our car. The food was great, the valet service was prompt, and the bell hop was attentive.

We were here 15 years ago for a birthday party. It was fun to relive old memories and make new ones.!

Room Tip: High up for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel has a beautiful old-schoool glamour feel but what really shines is the staff. All of the employees are in collusion to provide an excellent experience for the customers. An oasis in the middle of a big city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 9525MimiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scranton, pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in the William Penn suite and had the adjoining king room. It was like we had our own apartment. The door in the hallway was able to be closed so that we had our own two bedroom suite with a foyer, kitchen, dining room, living room and two bedrooms. Our room had a great view of the fountains in the park too. The hotel is beautiful and the service was excellent. We received complimentary coffee and muffins to our room every morning and the kids got cookies and milk in the room every evening. The location was excellent also. We were able to walk to the Pirate game and to the Consol Energy arena for a concert. I would definitely recommend staying at the Omni.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7kennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great place to stay and location is perfect. Would stay there again on next visit. Only downside is figuring out the parking, used self-service parking right next door but you need to be careful or not pre-paying and leaving.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Walk into a grand charming sophisticated lobby and you will see why this is an Omni property. The staff is very professional and helpful and the property is very clean. Our room was small but tastefully luxurious with a great view of the city. The bed was one that is so comfortable that you are asleep as soon as you snuggle in. Market Square is within walking distance and is suggested for nightlife and dinner. You will be charged a $50 deposit upon check in but it is refunded back in a few days. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

generally i'm frugal but sometimes I splurge. The william penn has real in room dining. So after the ballet and not up for moving so showered and robed we ordered late dinner. You get a table, chairs, dinner and someone to set it all up. Its worth paying for. The rooms are elegant, perhaps a bit dark, they don't have huge windows, very traditional, beds are comfortable. Staff and service is top notch.
yThe main restaurant, the palm court if I remember correctly is a bit behind the times and the brunch service was not up to standard. My wife asked for a cappucino and the waiter was flummoxed. Pittsburgh is not the most cutting edge place but I think lattes, and cappucino is not unknown. It was
I lived for many years in Pittsburgh, the"burg" and this was my first time visiting and staying at the William Penn but I have been to many functions. The main ballroom is beautiful as is the the Urban Room, an Art Deco beauty.
I had some printing to do and the concierge was helpful.

for a manhattanite that walks a lot I could park the car ( the mellon square garage is across the street from the main entrance and is $5 a day on weekends} and walk to most venues. The stadiums are perhaps a hike for some but on a fine summer or fall day very enjoyable. I am a downtown guy and this is a good downtown hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing