We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Cleanest of Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Grand Lobby - check! Location - Check! And that's about it. First room smelled like cigarette smoke (or could have been a musk smell from the carpet?). Second room had blood or rust stains and hairs on the bed linens and check underneath your pillow cases - they were spoiled in large urine colour stains. So was the shower curtain. If they updated/changed the pillow and shower curtain liners regularly - then all good. Oh and don't expect to be greeted at the door - the door men only care about you if you are valet-ing your car. And the Speakeasy Bar on premise is closed on Mondays.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,204)
There are newer reviews for Omni William Penn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,481 - 2,487 of 4,204 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The formal, old style of this hotel is stunning! The rooms are luxuriously appointed and ours had a beautiful view of the historic architecture of downtown Pittsburgh. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We hope to stay here many more times.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BiltmoreGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Pittsburg. Historic and luxury feel for great value. Walking distance from everything. Staff is top-notch. Multiple in hotel locations for food and drink, even a breakfast bagel place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the William Penn. The lobby is Grand, the rooms large and extremely comfortable (my husband did not want to get out of the comfy bed) and the food excellent. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, especially the lobby greeters. It is a perfect location for a visit to Pittsburgh; we could easily walk to PNC park for the Pirates game. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank buryhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Weekend trip with 4 adults, 2 toddlers and 2 babies.

First off the hotel itself is perfectly located for sight seeing and has amazing lobby.

The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful but too many things were off to give it a five star rating. I may be picky but they added up to impact our experience. They include:
-not having adjoining rooms despite being booked on one reservation
-concierge that couldn't help us get tickets to an attraction (he said do it yourself) and told us to use gps to find our way to a different attraction
-room temperature originally set at 60
-a staff member telling off one of the toddlers for running around

Tip: save money by self parking in the lot in front of the hotel

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Best business stay I've had, anywhere, ever. Fabulous update of a historic property. Best Ruben I ever had in the Tap Room. Motion sensing LEDs in the end tables ensure that you can see where you are walking if you have to get up during the night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Rex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Omni William Penn for work. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. I expected more from the rooms, however. I was shocked to have to pay for internet-- it's 2014, free wifi is expected! My room was tiny and looked right out into another room, so I had to keep the drapes pulled at all times. The staff was great, as well as the breakfast that was included in our room price. AMAZING BREAKFAST BUFFET!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and away from the elevators! My room was right next to an elevator...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: £115 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing