We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Dining Experience”
Review of Plumsteadville Inn

Plumsteadville Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plumsteadville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plumsteadville Inn
Wrightstown
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dining Experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Rubber Chicken, Bland Hamburger, tasteless rolls, our service good but other servers seemed unprofessional and sloppy. The decor may be nice, it stops there,
Need much better management, need to oversee servers better and use better quality meats.
table remained uncleared for longer than comfortable

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zeus002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We all met at the bar before going to the dining room- the bar is very comfortable and beautiful- lots of atmosphere and ambiance- very pleasant and fun. We also met new friendly people from outside the area and enjoyed making new friends. From there we went to the dining room- very comfortable, fun, great atmosphere again. The wait staff was very very friendly and accomodating- we were treated very nicely and attentively. The manager was available and "hands on" for our questions and requests. The food was very very good and priced well- we felt that the value was good. Over all we had a very fun and enjoyable evening and I felt very justified in inviting my friends to join to us at the Inn- we are very happy to have the Plumsteadville back again- new owners with a vision of what we all long for from the past and memorable Plumsteadville Inn- bringing back the good times.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was anticipating trying this historic, local landmark and had been waiting a few months for them to get acclimated after it reopened under new ownership. I had dined there years ago and the food and service was mediocre at best.

We were promptly seated by a young, friendly hostess, but we waited more than 10 minutes before a server came to our table (1pm on a Sunday afternoon, only 2 other tables). She seemed a bit off-put that we wanted to place our food and drink orders at the same time (as we had ample opportunity to peruse the menu nonetheless). It took her another 10+ minutes to get two sodas to our table. No problem, there were 6 flat screen tv's in the DINING ROOM to keep us distracted. I can understand a few tv's in the bar area or at a sports bar, but if I'm going out to dine at an establishment such as this (a 260 year old inn), I do not want to hear, nor watch Sports Center on Espn while sitting at my table . It really degraded from the overall atmosphere of an otherwise quaint, antiquated room .

Also, the layout of the tables in the dining room was crowded and difficult to navigate around for the patrons and the servers. Another diner had to pull his chair up to the table for us to get to our seats and another one had to grab the back of my fiance's chair as he stumbled through the cluttered room. Not a very conducive setting for servers or diners.

The food was good and flavorful. A rare ahi tuna sandwich for me and a hot pastrami sandwich for my fiance. This was the only highlight of our dining experience.

Now for the bill. My fiance put his credit card into the folio and when our server came to retrieve it, she promptly asked if we needed change! I have served in an upscale, dining environment and I am currently in the industry. By ANY restaurants' standards, that comment would be considered an offensive, tactless, faux paux (this was not a young, inexperienced server, she was definitely in her 40's). This comment made it awkward for us to convey that we were paying with a credit card! Strike three for our server who never even told us her name.

I may give this restaurant another try in the future, but not anytime soon. On a first impression, a poor server can ruin a good meal and the promise of a potential repeat customer unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodiebuckscounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plumsteadville hotels

Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Had a nice dinner in the bar. Food was very good and portions were generous. Service was good, perhaps a little quick. Prices are extremely fair. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toolsales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottsville, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I've been going to the Plumsteadville Inn since the 1970's...back in it's prime. I stopped going about 15 years ago because by then the food & service had deteriorated as to render it just not worth the bother.

I was happy to see it had reopened & went tonight to "check it out".

While the cold & aloof hostess who seated us reminded me of the reasons why I stopped going there years ago, I am happy to say that our server was warm, welcoming and professional.
I was also glad to see that the much of the interior was unchanged, albeit "polished up".
The atmosphere was also similar to the Inn in the glory days. People in blue jeans mingling with the suits at the bar. Lively chatter & laughter made the place alive. Brought back some very happy memories .
Their menu is HUGE. My wife & I decided to sample a wide variety of the appetizers & finger food with a bottle of Meritage rather than a traditional appetizer/entree meal.
We picked 6 between us & shared shamelessly. LOL

While there were some issues that the chef needs to address, like severely over salting the steamed clams and using way too much nutmeg in the crab cakes, the rest of the appetizers (stuffed mushrooms, tuna, nachos and beef sliders ranged from OK to very good.

It would help the restaurant if the chef tasted the food before offering up to the customers.

Bottom line is that there was more good than not during our first visit to the newly opened landmark eatery. So we will go back & try a more traditional dinner with entrees.

I truly hope this place can get the kinks, due to it's newness, worked out.
I , and I believe many, many "ustabe" patrons, would love to be able to be regulars here again. It would be kinda like coming home again.

Good luck Plumsteadville Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ottsville_PAJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Frequented the Inn in the past, and was happy to see it reopened. However, our party of three was seated too close to the Monday nite line dance activities. Our waitress was training a new staff member and was awesome, but when asked to be reseated, it was not received well by the other staff. The food was great. However, one hour after I left I became extremely ill. I called the Inn the next two days to give them a heads up, so others might not be affected. Called 3x total and asked for the manager each time, who never came to the phone. Did leave the info with 2 different staff members, who said perhaps it was the Bearnaise sauce,and they disposed of this daily. Nothing else was mentioned. Note; whatever this was, I was started on antibiotics day four of illness. I am really disappointed in how this situation was handled.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillski440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I've been to the newly renovated Plumsteadville Inn twice since it reopened in January. I had a very pleasant dining experience both times. The food was very good and I found the wait staff to be friendly and attentive. They have a diverse menu with something for everyone. I enjoyed the piano player the first time (he did not play my most recent visit) and particularly enjoy the tavern environment with the fireplace, large screen TV and table or booth seating. Given the separated layout ("fine dining" vs tavern fare) you can find an environment suitable for almost any type of group.

Room Tip: I believe B & B is not yet operative. Also, Sunday Brunch will resume in mid-April as I understa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plumsteadville
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Doylestown
Hampton Inn Doylestown
#2 of 2 in Warrington
413 reviews
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
4.4 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#1 of 2 in Doylestown
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Washington House Hotel
The Washington House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sellersville
93 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
243 reviews
16.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newtown - Langhorne, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumsteadville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumsteadville Inn

Property: Plumsteadville Inn
Address: Rt 611 and Stump Rd, 5902 Easton Road, Plumsteadville, PA 18947
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Plumsteadville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plumsteadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plumsteadville Inn has been under new ownership since 2012 with the restaurant and bar. Now in 2015 there are 13 overnight rooms and a banquet hall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumsteadville Hotel Plumsteadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing