We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EASTER VACATION”
Review of The Carriage House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carriage House
Medford, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“EASTER VACATION”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rooms are redone, but the outside needs an update- pool is redone, nice spacious pool area- no activities was disappointed for a holiday week- a lot of arcade games- everyone nice, but called for a mattress pad never got and called for toilet paper 2x never got had to take from another bathroom-

Room Tip: not sure if all rooms r updated so just make sure you get updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management521, Manager at The Carriage House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We were sorry to hear you missed our Friday activities. We did have complimentary pizza followed by a sing a long at the fire pit with hot chocolate and a movie with popcorn. Our management team will look into your request being over looked. We take great pride in our customer service and strive to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable.
We hope you will come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    34
    13
    11
    24
See reviews for
46
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just got back from Easter weekend at the Carriage House. I will admit that I was leery of booking here since some of the reviews were not great but I called and spoke with a staff member and decided to go for it. I'm glad I did. My family and I had a nice time. Our room on the 2nd floor was renovated. It wasn't fancy, but nice and clean and the kitchenette had everything we needed to cook daily breakfast.

I used the gym which was fine. The equipment wasn't new but it worked and was clean including the sauna. The pool area was good - my son really enjoyed it. There was lots for him to do including a game area with video games, pinball machines, air hockey, ping pong, etc. There's an outdoor playground and lots of room for kids to run around.

The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make it a fun weekend for the kids with a pizza party, ice cream social, family movies, egg coloring, an egg hunt & a meet & greet with the Easter Bunny. It has a nice family operated vibe which we liked. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends with kids and will come back ourselves since it's close to Camelback ski area.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. We stayed in a mini suite which sleeps four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management521, Manager at The Carriage House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We thank you so much for your kind words and we are grateful we were able to accommodate your family. Carriage House was filled with the sound of happy children all weekend! That is the best sound in the world. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

AWD almost left us stranded since roads and walkways weren't cleared. The sign was torn down. GPS can't seem to find this place or most places in this area...we were told that a nearby town had received the 911 call system a couple of years ago! We were booked for the studio because they were filled to capacity... the studio was awful. Second floor, right above the pool which made breathing difficult with all of the chlorine. Very little outlets here so we got up on a chair to reach one above the TV armoire. That led to a sneezing fit with all of the dust bunnies above it. The shower head was moldy and was coming out of the wall to the point where you could see beyond the wall. The windows do not have curtains or blinds but rather a sliding shadelike contraption pictured herein which did not block the light AT ALL. The parking lot was poorly cleared and I could not find a handicap sign anywhere and nearly fell trying to get out of the car. Activities? None really and any were rescheduled due to the storm so if you are snowed in...you are literally snowed in. For outside activities their gladly give you a copy of the 1800 Poconos site. THE STAFF WAS VERY CURTEOUS! I actually felt bad for them, it was so dimly lit there. We were moved to a mini suite after speaking to the front desk and moved to the 3rd floor which was better without the chlorine intoxication. We had two refrigerators, One was not cooling adequately. Irons, hair dryers and cork screw openers do not come equipped in the room so you have to request to borrow as needed. The first iron had to be disposed of since it had wires exposed that no one had realized. Cork screw opener was from the Dollar tree... we know because we went to buy one and it didn't work very well and bent. Utencils? The rugs seem as if they haven't been washed. We had a leak in the window from the snow build up on the roof so the drip kept us up & the smell of the damp rug made it worse.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank exprsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management521, Manager at The Carriage House, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for giving The Carriage House the opportunity to serve you during your vacation. Customer service is our top priority and we are very sorry your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Allow me to address some of your observations. The day of your arrival, we did have Maintenance plowing , however the snow continued into the evening at an inch an hour pace. They worked as efficiently as they could plowing and salting. This has been an extreme winter and so many homes and businesses are working hard to keep up.
On that day, we did reschedule one activity due to the weather, but held it the very next day. We hosted ten activities that weekend and received positive feedback from participants.
As for our GPS coordinate, we have it posted on our website, so we will follow up to see why you were not able to find it.
Exchange companies have control over what they offer a client as far as room size, but we do offer upgrades for anyone who requests them. As soon as you mentioned a chlorine smell, you were upgraded. Our staff immediately inspected your room to determine if there was a problem because that particular room is not near the pool. There was a follow up inspection done with every one of your comments investigated.
We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future. We are actively renovating and look forward to the improvements.
Please call the resort to speak to a manager if there is anything further we can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pocono Manor hotels

NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here during Presidents' weekend/Valentine's Day with the kids and met up with two other families. Because of the reviews, we were a little skeptical but realizing the reviews were kinda old, we went anyway. The kids (and the adults) had an amazing time. We did go tubing at Camelback but had we just gone to the hotel, it would have been just fine. The only gripe we had was that several couples had no qualms getting frisky in front of the kids. We got the hint and left the pool area. I'm sure the hotel got some interesting footage.

Room Tip: The Royal Suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management521, Manager at The Carriage House, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we did during your stay. We do monitor behavior and put an end to anything inappropriate. We pride ourselves on being a family oriented timeshare. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at Royal suite for 1 night and we have 5 ppl total. This is a great place. We love it!! The room is clean and the service is pretty good. Close to Camel back ski resort. I recommended if you would like an easy place to get together with friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wowlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management521, Manager at The Carriage House, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Customer service is a top priority and we strive to make all our guests feel welcome. Please keep us in mind for future group bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with this place. Two families were able to have great time in the local area skiing. There was enough room for six without being over crowded. The indoor pool, game room and fitness were great. I would definitely book again at this great value.

The staff was excellent and friendly.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SWfloyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management521, Manager at The Carriage House, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we did. Our staff takes great pride in creating a warm atmosphere. We are a great choice for ski season, only a short distance from the slopes and just when it's getting cold, you return to a comfortable indoor pool and hot tubs. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed in one of the mini suites this weekend and enjoyed the place, but was not happy with the fitness room, machines were not working properly , missing cables and I had asked on friday if it would be repaired, they were not aware of the problem , me and my wife are fitness people and the machine never got repaired, other wise was a great stay, but a little disapointed, bet its still not repaired!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
management521, Manager at The Carriage House, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We are always glad to hear guests have a good time staying with us. We are aware the gym needs updated equipment. Our maintenance department makes every attempt to keep machines functional. I hope you will see an improvement on your next trip. Happy holidays from the Carriage House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocono Manor
0.2 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Mount Pocono
300 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Poconos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel M, Mount Pocono
Hotel M, Mount Pocono
#4 of 7 in Mount Pocono
321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,506 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House

Property: The Carriage House
Address: 390 Manor Drive, 390, Pocono Manor, PA 18349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Pocono Manor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pocono Manor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small country timeshare nestled in the heart of the Poconos. We provide fully equipped kitchens for convenience. We are located across the road from Kalahari and within fifteen driving minutes of Mount Airy Casino, Auquatopia and Camelback Ski Area, Crossing Premium Outlet and Pocono Raceway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Carriage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House At Pocono Manor Hotel Pocono Manor
Carriage Hotel Pocono Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing