We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "ok" place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pottstown
Dansville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An "ok" place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose a modestly priced place with a continental breakfast. We weren't expecting luxury. The room and bed were clean. The place needs upgrades. We almost bottomed out pulling into to the driveway. The continental breakfast would have been adequate but they ran out of milk and there was no way for the clerk to get more until after we left. The clerk reported that it was unusual to run out. We would probably stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
We thank you for leaving a review for our property. We are making improvements everyday and are happy that you felt comfortable. We will make sure to keep extra stock of breakfast items on hand! Thanks again. Hope you come by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    4
    21
See reviews for
9
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Not a horrible place, BUT the bathroom had a very heavy bleach odor (they had the door closed when I arrived). The water 'ran' not dripped into the tub constantly. No hot water in the bathtub. Room overall was tidy but 'old'. Heating system sucked -- no instructions and how to turn on/off, control temp, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT09NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We are very sorry that you weren't totally satisfied with your stay here at Americas Best Value Inn, Pottstown. We keep our property very well maintained and we are sorry that the bathroom smelled like bleach, normally the door is left open to air out. As far as a leak in the faucet, we did have that repaired, but we did have hot water...maybe you weren't sure of how to turn the faucet to that temperature. We checked the heating system and everything was running properly, maybe you just had trouble with the knobs. We are sorry you didn't call the front desk, we would have been more than happy to help you. We do hope you will return, since you have been here we are remodeling our rooms with new mattresses, bedding, carpeting, lighting, flatscreen TVs and artwork. We are always trying to improve property for a pleasurable stay. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pottstown hotels

Huguenot NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We selected it because we were traveling with our small dog and the price and location fit our needs. Room smelled old, noise from the out side and other room caused a very sleepless night. Bed was ok, but there were holes in the bedspread. In room coffee maker stuck to the base of the coffee maker. Give he impression the rooms could be rented at a hourly rate. It looked kind of clean but the sink counter didn't feel it, things felt sticky.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We are very happy that we were able to accommodate your pet as we are pet friendly. We are terribly sorry that the coffee pot was sticky giving you a bad impression. We have educated our housekeepers and they are much more careful now. We have also been remodeling and have purchased all new bedding that we are sure you will like. Please come back and see the improvements...we hope you will change your impression of our property...and of course, bring your pet too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interlaken
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Do NOT stay here. Rat traps lining the rear parking lot was our first clue. Add to that the horrible smell in the room, unsavory characters partying until 3 in the morning in the lot, stained sheets with holes in them, an old tattered comforter, the smoke detector was hanging out of the wall - the door didn't close all the way, I could go on and on. I've stayed in hundreds of places all over the country of all different qualities but this place is the absolute worst. I understand why they have a 48 hour cancellation policy. I'm sure most people want to cancel as soon as they drive in. We got there late so had to stay one night. I convinced the owner to let us out of the second night by reading the trip advisor reviews outloud in the lobby. Oh yes, and if you have a dog they charge you 25 a night for each dog and there is NO GRASS anywhere for them to potty on. There is a patch of grass on the property next door, but it contains a very hazardess pothole that will break your leg. Run, run away!!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We are sorry that you did not find your stay satisfactory, but we are a bit confused as to the pet charges. Our policy, both stated online and in our office is $10 per pet per night. We thought since you had a few pets, we would only charge you $25 per night. Because we are located downtown, we are sort of limited on grassy spots, but do have a nice patch in front and on side of building that is more than adequate for your little pet. We also have a park behind us that you could have used. We have been updating our rooms with new accessories, mattresses and bedding and everything is fresh and modern. We do hope that you will come back and see us soon and, please note the correct pet fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The most disgusting place I have ever seen. Peeling paint, dirty walls, duct tape toilet seat to hold it together. Holes in the dirty sheets. I didn't even stay in the room. I used it as a rest room. Even at that I felt dirty. I slept in my car. Oh and the door didn't unlock, it took about 30 attempts to get it unlocked.

Room Tip: Stay away!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
We are not sure why you were actually dissatisfied with your stay with us, because there was no peeling paint in your room, and certainly no duct taped toilet seat! We would never be in business if that is how we kept our rooms. Unfortunately, sometimes the smokers do put burn holes in our sheets and we do not always catch them, so we are sorry for that. But since your stay, we have replaced all new bedding and it looks great. We do not know why you would have slept in your car instead of asking us for a different room if you were not happy, especially since you still paid for your room. We also checked the lock and it was fine, we take our guests' safety seriously and that would be a hazard if the door had such a problem. Again, we wish you would have brought this to our attention instead of sleeping in the car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown 29 High St. The comforter on the bed was not clean,the sheets had spots on them,and they never change the sheets we stayed for a week.The light over the sink went out and it took two days for them to put one in and we had to push the point.There wae trash beside the night stand that I had to ask for them clean up .And the FAT guy at front desk needs to find him a new JOB because all he want to do is eat the so call breakfast not a person to have welcome the guest.Who do the inspection on these places up in Pottstown not doing there job.The bathroom is not clean smell like urine tub not clean.I'm so sorry we book this dump.And they had roach traps set out where you could see them.We had problems after problems and mold and mildew kept me with a headache.Never ever again don't go there and don't go by the picture misleading.If I could get my money back and close it down I would!!!!!!!!!!!All of the reviews are true and what they have posted is true.Next year when our church is there I will not be staying at that DUMP.

Room Tip: Not quiet at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugeenie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
we are very sorry you had disatisfy stay. I review all your comments and went through with our houskeeping personnal to educate them. we are remodling with new bedding, carpeting, vanity lights, furnitures and clean bathroom to assure our guest that they will have cmfort stay at this ABVI of pottstown. I acknowledge our pest control person about the trapes and he will be more careful and after checking peridically to remove them. I do tell our Housekeeping to change every other day sheets to weekly stay. I hope you will come and see the changes to be satisfy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was the most disgusting flea bag hotel I have ever laid eyes on! The base around the room actually peeled right off leaving the glue exposed (which was covered in what looked like pubic hair!) The entire room smelled of urine, the room was not clean in any way. There was paint all over the bathroom floor, shower, etc. If not for the fact that every hotel in Pottstown was booked for a soccer tournament, we would have run screaming. They ran out of towels so we had to dry ourselves with wash cloths. I would not touch the continental breakfast for fear of poisoning... I'm not exaggerating....this place is a DUMP. Oh and to top it off, we saw a prostitute running from the cops right in front of our door! I WILL NEVER EVER STAY HERE AGAIN. If you do, check for bed bugs!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
I would like to appolozied for the dissatisfy stay. I have taken all action to correct the comments. We are in process of remodling with new bedding, beds, carepeting, new art work, new pillows, vanity lights. also had maintanance, and houskeeping to clean and santized the bathroom area. Hope you will come back and stay to get comfortable stay with all updates in rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottstown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Pottstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pottstown
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Limerick-Philadelphia Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Limerick
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 1 in Douglassville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
7.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Royersford-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown
Address: 29 E High St, Pottstown, PA 19464-5426 (Formerly Pottstown Days Inn)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pottstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Pottstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, conveniently located south of Interstate 633 and east of Highway 422. Our Pottstown, Pennsylvania hotel is close to several area attractions such as Valley Forge National Historical Park, Daniel Boone Homestead, Pottsgrove Manor, Boyertown Museum of Vehicles, and Crystal Cave. Raven's Claw Golf Club, Coventry Mall, and Philadelphia Premium Outlets are also nearby. VIP Restaurant, Argento's Pizza-Family Restaurant, The Brick House, and China Pan are just a few of the restaurants located less than half a mile from our hotel. Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown offers comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our guest laundry facility. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our common areas and guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, satellite TV, HBO, ESPN, hairdryer, desk with lamp, free local calls, and wake-up service. Pets are welcome. Children age 11 and younger stay free in their parent's room. At Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Pottstown Hotel Pottstown
Pottstown Days Inn
Days Inn Pottstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing