We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible service and comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 4 Pottsville B&B and Inns
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Incredible service and comfort!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is my second time staying at the Maid's Quarters and, it again, did not disappoint. The first stay was in the suite while the second stay was in a smaller guest room. Both were very cozy, clean and charming. To add to the rooms themselves were the absolute amazing breakfasts we ate each morning. Once Allison found out I was vegan, she prepared special meals for me. I never had this type of considerate, caring service anywhere else that I have stayed. It really meant so much to me and this food was not just steamed veggies. She had wonderful dishes that rivaled that of any NYC vegan brunch spot. My husband and I will always stay at this bed and breakfast when we are in town, visiting family. Thank you, Allison!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms. If you don't like sharing a bathroom, you can have your own within th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
55
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Thank you Trip Adivsor! While trying to plan a trip to Yuengling we had a hard time finding a place to stay. Then per your recommendation, we found this place. Allyson was perfectly charming and friendly. We felt like we had the whole house to ourselves.

Finding the place was a little rough for us coming in at night, through the mountains, but once we got our bearings we were fine. There is not a whole lot else to do in Pottsville so dont go thinking you will have a grand adventure, but definitely go to Yuengling, and DEFINITELy visit this B and B. Cozy, warm, friendly, and her breakfast was remarkable!

PS. My bed was sooooooooo comfortable I didnt want to get out of it!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeGurl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwmdoc
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Originally planned on staying in JIm Thorpe. We thought we were booked in Jim Thorpe but ended up in Pottsville. Oh well. Great mistake . Inn keeper was great. Good breakfast. We had third floor all to ourself. Went on Yiuengling tour and really enjoyed our stay. If you are ever close be sure to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms were good. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Ashley was very nice and the location was perfect. We appreciated all the little touches, such as the cookies in the room, snacks and tea, as well as the best breakfast I've ever had at a B&B! Although we were only there for 1 night, it was a fantastic stay. The only issue was that Room 2 was on the street, which was quite loud with cars until late and they started early in the morning. I would pay the extra for the larger suite.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Maids Quarters is terrific. It's not Laura Ashley lovely, but it is homey, friendly and quite Lovely in its own right. I am from Pottsville, Pa and returned for my 50th--yes, really--high school class reunion. The Maids Quarters seemed like a fun alternative. Owners Marcela and Richard couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. We actually stayed in the Maid's quarters on the top floor and it was spacious and comfortable. Decorated with gorgeous antiques and a big brass bed, we had a living room, dining room, bedroom and bath. All this for great price. Marcela made us breakfast and accomodated our every wish--she put out wine glasses for us, left us cheese and snacks, etc. She gave us keys and we could come and go. We had free parking in the back.. We almost missed the reunion events because we spent so much time talking with her.
This place is great--clean, different and warm. We loved it and plan to return. We feel like we made new friends

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yu4ick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Hospitality was phenomenal.
Our suite was wonderful, very cozy, comfortable and felt like home. The location was within walking distance to all attractions. We really enjoyed our stay and do not have a negative thing to write about, breakfast was delicious and homemade and was made especially for my husband which is a vegetarian.
As a couple we would stay there 10 out of 10 times, and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkgus1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

If you are looking for modern conveniences, go to a hotel. You won't find a TV or a radio in your room, but you will find comfortable and clean accomodations in an old-world style.
Our hosts were very hospitable without being obtrusive.
We were served a delicious 3 course breakfast each day during our weekend stay, and had more than enough to eat. One afternoon, after we came in from touring, Marcella served us fresh, squeezed lemonaide ~ you won't get that amenity at Quality Inn!
We enjoyed chatting with her about the history of the area, and appreciated her knowledgable discourse.
While we stayed in a room without a private bathroom, we did not encounter any inconveniences with our morning showers or bathroom breaks. One evening we watched a dvd in the common sitting room and had complete privacy while we sipped our wine and enjoyed our movie. While you can park on Centre street in front of the house, my husband parked his "baby" behind the house away from the traffic in their private parking area. We came away from The Maid's Quarters happy and relaxed, and hope that you do, too!

  • Liked — We could walk into Pottsville and take in the local sights. Fast-food right around the corner. Yuengling Brewery & the Classic Car Museum can be reached within minutes.
  • Disliked — Not all of the rooms have a private bath, however, we were not inconvenienced by this.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsville
0.3 mi away
Ramada Pottsville
Ramada Pottsville
#2 of 2 in Pottsville
457 reviews
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
13.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frackville
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Barnesville - Frackville
19.8 mi away
Residence Inn Hazleton
Residence Inn Hazleton
#2 of 8 in Hazleton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom

Property: The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom
Address: 402 S Centre St, Pottsville, PA 17901-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into time and experience the historic elegance and tranquility of this 1829 country Victorian Inn. Pottsville’s most charming inn is located right in the heart of town. Walking distance to downtown, local restaurants, shops and The Yuengling Brewery. The Maid’s Quarters offers all the amenities of a modern hotel with a blend of old world charm and much more. Rooms and Suites feature air conditioning, wireless internet, fireplaces, specialty amenities, plush robes, freshly baked cookies, specialty chocolates, a full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments. Our on-site Tea Room is perfect for brunch or a spot of tea! Specializing in quiche, frittata, homemade soup, specialty sandwiches & salads, and homemade sweets. ***Off street parking is available in the large gated lot directly across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing