We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 4 Pottsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The city of Pottsville seems like it used to be a pretty nice historic town, previously. Now the only reason to go is to tour the Yuengling Brewery, which is well worth it. There is a decent restaurant, the GreyStone, so you wont go hungry. This B&B, however, was fantastic. Allyson is an amazing host and does a great job of making you feel welcome as soon as you step foot in the door. The room that we stayed in, Room 2, was extremely nice and had a bathroom inside. My girlfriend loved the cookies that Allyson made and she leaves little snacks throughout the house in case hunger strikes. Everything about this place was incredible. And then we got breakfast in the morning. The coffee, the coffee cake, the fruit and the french toast, everything was delicious. Somewhat surprised that someone so young had such impressive culinary skills. If i am ever in the area again, I would definitely return to the Maids Quarters.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any of the rooms, but Room 2 had its own bathroom. I think Room 3 had a bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tank1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a wonderful way to relax and unwind. The rooms were quaint and welcoming. Very cozy. The hostess was very friendly. The food was glorious.

Highly recommended over any normal hotel stay. It was warm and inviting. Did I say the food was delicious? Her food was delicious. :)

I loved my stay. Parking is an issue (street parking.. I just personally hate it), but once you park you are fine. There are good restaurants within walking distance.

I will definitely be staying again for a night of relaxation. It was wonderful to unwind on the cozy day bed with a good book. The maid quarters room also has a very large old fashioned tub. It was wonderful to soak in with the fresh natural soaps (which are provided!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were in town visiting family and found this place on Trip Advisor with great reviews. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here. Allyson is very sweet and friendly.
Our room was very clean and comfortable.The place is very homey and Allyson is a fantastic cook! We loved her breakfast each morning. Her breads she serves with breakfast is to die for! It is a good value and we will definitely stay here when in town again!

Room Tip: We were in Room 2. It has an adjoining bath and a small area to hang clothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie5arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The rooms are lovely, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming, the innkeeper is terrific, and the food is fantastic! I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who might need to stay in Pottsville, PA. Parking is a problem (not Allyson's fault) but everything else was great. Allyson took time to have just enough conversation with us that we felt very comfortable. I will certainly go back there next time I visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avchryst, Owner at The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you Stephanie for your review :-) All guests have access to the gated parking lot across the street now! It may have taken a while to set in place but it was well worth the wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I am so happy that I discovered Maid's Quarters instead of booking at a cookie cutter chain hotel. The front room was large, the bed comfortable and the surroundings quiet. The decor was warm and cozy. Breakfast was outstanding and Allyson could not have done more to make my stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San diego
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Maid's Quarters is great! It's quite, cozy, and a special experience! We stayed here following our wedding and really enjoyed oursevles. The third floor suite was exactly what we were looking for and Allyson, the owner, is VERY nice and accommodating! The bed was VERY comfortable and the entire B&B is very clean. She even gave us a key the day before so we could have easy access immediately following the wedding. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Love this Bed & Breakfast! My husband and I always stay here anytime we are in area. We stay about once to twice a year and didn't think it could get any better - but it did! Alison did some renovations earlier this year and made the room even more fabulous. And, again, she made us glorious breakfast every morning (and we even had some cookies that she made especially for our snacking, in the room) - you can't get this type of food anywhere in Pottsville. An absolutely fabulous stay, per usual!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsville
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
0.3 mi away
Ramada Pottsville
Ramada Pottsville
#2 of 2 in Pottsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
13.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frackville
9.6 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#1 of 1 in Barnesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
Hampton Inn Pine Grove
#1 of 4 in Pine Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom

Property: The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom
Address: 402 S Centre St, Pottsville, PA 17901-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into time and experience the historic elegance and tranquility of this 1829 country Victorian Inn. Pottsville’s most charming inn is located right in the heart of town. Walking distance to downtown, local restaurants, shops and The Yuengling Brewery. The Maid’s Quarters offers all the amenities of a modern hotel with a blend of old world charm and much more. Rooms and Suites feature air conditioning, wireless internet, fireplaces, specialty amenities, plush robes, freshly baked cookies, specialty chocolates, a full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments. Our on-site Tea Room is perfect for brunch or a spot of tea! Specializing in quiche, frittata, homemade soup, specialty sandwiches & salads, and homemade sweets. ***Off street parking is available in the large gated lot directly across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing