We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House from fairytale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 4 Pottsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lithuania/VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“House from fairytale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

At first we were considering this place because of it's location suitable for our itinerary, price and cute interior but the biggest instant buying thing was the personal and warm attitude we received from a hostess. Allyson makes this beautiful places twice more attractive by being such a kind person herself. I contacted her by e-mail regarding an issue I discovered after booking a room and she solved it the best way possible.
Breakfast Allyson cooked and served was very delicious, we also liked her homemade welcome cookies, coffee maker in the "lobby"+ breakfast room and little bowls with complimentary candies here and there around the house. Small things that make a day brighter. Other nice things to mention: natural soaps made by local manufacture, warm interior filled with laces, candles, nice antique things, fun and wise sayings...
Location of this bed and breakfast is also very good. It's just a short walk from a few great dining places and local museums (not that they are open all the time but anyway). Too bad we had no time to stay in this house from a fairytale any longer. Pottsville itself is also a very nice town, seemingly very quiet but you just need to enter a bar/pub and you will find the different side of the evening/night life in Pottsville.
If, by any chance, we'll be traveling in the area some other time, we'd definitely like to come back.


I was not happy about having no room key. Despite it being a very friendly place with trust atmosphere and enough privacy because rooms are separated by a hallway, I would have felt better knowing that our room is locked when we are out or wish to have certain privacy inside our room. Another thing I didn't like was a sound from AC but that's something all hotels/motels etc have.

Room Tip: If you're booking not from the B&B site, ask about a location of your bathroom. Booking com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanduteDigitalArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avchryst, Owner at The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and helpful tips. I have just installed locks on the bedroom doors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

we stayed at the Maid's Quarters after touring the Yuengling Brewery. Allyson is pleasant and helpful without being intrusive. She anticipated everything that made us feel "at home". We had homemade cookies and a few chocolates in our room. Snacks and candy were available in the hallway and dining room. There is a fridge with drinks upstairs. The B&B is impeccably clean and comfortable. The specially-made soaps were really nice. Breakfast was excellent. Guests may choose between two entrees. We had omelets with fresh basil,tomato and cheese, fresh berries and a delicious homemade bread. We had raspberry coffeecake. There is a nice tea selection. Meals are served on pretty china. The Greystone Restaurant nearby serves excellent food. We definitely recommend staying here; it is comfortable,welcoming and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The city of Pottsville seems like it used to be a pretty nice historic town, previously. Now the only reason to go is to tour the Yuengling Brewery, which is well worth it. There is a decent restaurant, the GreyStone, so you wont go hungry. This B&B, however, was fantastic. Allyson is an amazing host and does a great job of making you feel welcome as soon as you step foot in the door. The room that we stayed in, Room 2, was extremely nice and had a bathroom inside. My girlfriend loved the cookies that Allyson made and she leaves little snacks throughout the house in case hunger strikes. Everything about this place was incredible. And then we got breakfast in the morning. The coffee, the coffee cake, the fruit and the french toast, everything was delicious. Somewhat surprised that someone so young had such impressive culinary skills. If i am ever in the area again, I would definitely return to the Maids Quarters.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with any of the rooms, but Room 2 had its own bathroom. I think Room 3 had a bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tank1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a wonderful way to relax and unwind. The rooms were quaint and welcoming. Very cozy. The hostess was very friendly. The food was glorious.

Highly recommended over any normal hotel stay. It was warm and inviting. Did I say the food was delicious? Her food was delicious. :)

I loved my stay. Parking is an issue (street parking.. I just personally hate it), but once you park you are fine. There are good restaurants within walking distance.

I will definitely be staying again for a night of relaxation. It was wonderful to unwind on the cozy day bed with a good book. The maid quarters room also has a very large old fashioned tub. It was wonderful to soak in with the fresh natural soaps (which are provided!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were in town visiting family and found this place on Trip Advisor with great reviews. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here. Allyson is very sweet and friendly.
Our room was very clean and comfortable.The place is very homey and Allyson is a fantastic cook! We loved her breakfast each morning. Her breads she serves with breakfast is to die for! It is a good value and we will definitely stay here when in town again!

Room Tip: We were in Room 2. It has an adjoining bath and a small area to hang clothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie5arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The rooms are lovely, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming, the innkeeper is terrific, and the food is fantastic! I highly recommend this B&B to anyone who might need to stay in Pottsville, PA. Parking is a problem (not Allyson's fault) but everything else was great. Allyson took time to have just enough conversation with us that we felt very comfortable. I will certainly go back there next time I visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avchryst, Owner at The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you Stephanie for your review :-) All guests have access to the gated parking lot across the street now! It may have taken a while to set in place but it was well worth the wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I am so happy that I discovered Maid's Quarters instead of booking at a cookie cutter chain hotel. The front room was large, the bed comfortable and the surroundings quiet. The decor was warm and cozy. Breakfast was outstanding and Allyson could not have done more to make my stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottsville
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
0.3 mi away
Ramada Pottsville
Ramada Pottsville
#2 of 2 in Pottsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frackville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hamburg
9.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#1 of 1 in Barnesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
22.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom

Property: The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom
Address: 402 S Centre St, Pottsville, PA 17901-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pottsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pottsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into time and experience the historic elegance and tranquility of this 1829 country Victorian Inn. Pottsville’s most charming inn is located right in the heart of town. Walking distance to downtown, local restaurants, shops and The Yuengling Brewery. The Maid’s Quarters offers all the amenities of a modern hotel with a blend of old world charm and much more. Rooms and Suites feature air conditioning, wireless internet, fireplaces, specialty amenities, plush robes, freshly baked cookies, specialty chocolates, a full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments. Our on-site Tea Room is perfect for brunch or a spot of tea! Specializing in quiche, frittata, homemade soup, specialty sandwiches & salads, and homemade sweets. ***Off street parking is available in the large gated lot directly across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Maid's Quarters Bed, Breakfast & Tearoom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing