We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Villanova University
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radnor
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
225 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Reading reviews before booking, the biggest complaints seemed to revolve around thin towels. Since my husband and I were only looking for a place to lay our heads for a night, and we found the best rate in the area here, we went for it. All of our expectations were met or exceeded. We found a pleasant, quiet, location with clean and overall well-outfitted rooms. Front desk and breakfast room staff were welcoming and efficient. Breakfast options were pretty extensive and the coffee served was the best in a week of road-trip hotels. There was a conference in full swing in the breakfast room before 8 am, but tables were reserved for other guests on the far side of the room, so we didn't find it overly disturbing. The hotel served our purposes well, thin towels and all. (Thin towels have the advantage of drying quicker if one wants both a pre-dinner and a pre-breakfast shower without asking for a non-eco-friendly change of towels.) I can see where picky reviewers can find small faults, like the touted balconies look neglected and under-furnished, so I am not giving a raving five-star "excellent" review, but for a middle-range facility, Villanova easily rates a "very good," which often is good enough for simple travel need.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    36
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
13
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sackets Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here while college touring of the local colleges. After a previous stay at the marriott courtyard in Wayne, this is a nice alternative. Beautiful setting with Balcony.In room free wifi, in room coffee as well as the free buffet breakfast and coffee were as advertised. Room was clean and and well appointed. staff way young and very accommodating and friendly. Limited food available on site so you should plan to eat out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

When we first toured the facility I wasn't that impressed with the main room for the reception. However after the staff here set everything up, it looked completely different. Very nice. Food was all very good. Service was great. Very glad that we had our wedding reception here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ingram75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I chose this hotel for a visit to Haverford College based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was adequate in some respects but lacking in some important details.

On the plus side, it is a lovely, secluded setting. The free breakfast was better than average and the bed linens were nice. The room had a nice little balcony (which could have used a good power wash) overlooking a pleasant garden.

On the minus side, the towels in the bathroom were the type you'd expect to find in a budget roadside hotel. Thin, slightly dingy and too few of them. In my double room they had stocked two thin bath towels, two thin hand towels and one thin washcloth. (Did I mention they were thin?) The carpet is worn and dark -- I didn't feel great about going barefoot in the room. Also, my son had put the remainder of the sample-size shampoo and conditioner into his dop kit for his overnight at Haverford. I was annoyed the next morning when I went to shower and realized housekeeping hadn't replaced them. Really? Are we rationing shampoo now? Little details like this are so powerful in conveying the impression of a high-end vs. low-end hotel. While those details were low-end, the bill was high-end at $170 per night. VCC, time to up your game. I'll try another option on my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business last week. The rooms were spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is a full buffet. The conference center is located in a very nice Philly suburb. If you are going to any of the nearby school campuses, I would strongly recommend this neat location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvaRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed four days. It was very quiet until the students & parents arrived, but we already knew it's a University facility. Clean, comfortable room/ bed. Lovely pastoral setting & view. Nice TV, adequate breakfast, & courteous staff. The bathroom: clean, but skimpy & dingy towels. You can get them white & still be green. Maybe it's time to invest in new ones. Very little space to stow toiletries. No ventilation for preventing dampness after using the shower; wall tiles dripping with condensation, which made the skimpy towels feel even skimpier. SNAFU at checkout - we were overcharged, and glad we remembered to bring our paperwork with confirmation and rate. It was resolved before we left. My husband gets very grumpy when this happens (last year at another hotel). Hotels can't want their guests leaving with an unpleasant recollection of their departure. Otherwise, we would probably return in the future. Parking space could be improved.

Room Tip: Be CERTAIN to have your confirmation and room rate quotes in writing BEFORE you arrive. Get the na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennsynative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My company hosted a meeting at the Villanova Conference Center in the summer of 2012. (The site didn't allow me to go that far back in time.) Being a Philadelphia 'snob', at first I was skeptical about this location choice, but the place turned out to be perfect.

Rooms were basic and comfortable, not particularly noteworthy.

However, the business meetings themselves were held in the gorgeous estate house, which was both conducive to productive discussions and visually, was a respite from your usual generic business hotel.

My colleagues enjoyed sitting in the gardens behind the conference center during breaks and took the lovely views.

Snack breaks during business meetings were excellent and well stocked. The dining room served our group in a stately dining room. The food itself was good---much better than the average business hotel fare. The menu was also quite imaginative.

All staff encountered was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank concetta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radnor
1.2 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Conshohocken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Villanova University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Villanova University

Property: The Inn at Villanova University
Address: 601 County Line Rd, Radnor, PA 19087-4523 (Formerly Villanova University Conference Center)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Radnor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radnor
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Villanova University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn at Villanova University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villanova Conference Center
Villanova Hotel Radnor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing